Omnisphere installed working great, but no steam folder on MAC?

Discussion in 'Mac / Hackintosh' started by STEPHEN94, Dec 7, 2016.

  1. STEPHEN94

    STEPHEN94 Newbie

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2016
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hey, sorry to be yet another Omnisphere noob, but here I am.
    I installed Omnisphere 2.0 and it is working excellent, only thing is, I wanted to add Trilian, once I installed Trilian though, it still couldn't locate the trilian library, looking more into it, my computer literally has NO steam folder on it, I've looked in Application Support, just searching STEAM through all my folders and looking, do i need to reinstall or what the heck is happening here?

    I do have an external hard drive i originally downloaded it on [ which has STEAM folders from the crvcks ] , but i installed to my computer and can still open omnisphere without the external hard drive plugged in.
     
    Last edited: Dec 7, 2016
  2.  
  3. Leopold

    Leopold Newbie

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2016
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Best Answer
    This was bugging me as well, especially after such a large download. Basically, you have to create the steam folder yourself. Open up the first .dmg and copy the steam folder. Paste it into whichever drive you want to store your library. Open the second .dmg and copy the steam folder. Paste it into the same location as the last one. It'll ask if you want to replace or merge. Choose to merge them. Repeat this for the rest of the steam folders in each of the DMG files. When they've all been merged, right click on the steam folder and create an alias. Copy the alias and paste it into the directory where the steam folder should be. Delete "alias" from the name, keeping it "Steam". Voila. It should work.
     
  4. STEPHEN94

    STEPHEN94 Newbie

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2016
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    so i don't have any .dmg just .iso so I'm supposing you mean use those? going to try now
     
  5. Leopold

    Leopold Newbie

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2016
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Yeah, I meant .iso files. Sorry, it was late for me when I typed that up, and I rushed through it. Let me know if I need to clarify anything.
     
  6. YuYuV

    YuYuV Newbie

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2016
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    There is a hidden application support file that contains your steam folder
     
  7. modelarmy

    modelarmy Ultrasonic

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2016
    Messages:
    83
    Likes Received:
    32
    On Application Support-Spectrasonics must be a folder called STEAM not Steam, this is important. If you cant see that folder, please google
    how you can show hidden folders and trust me there are a lot. It exists two Application Folders one for Admin and the other one for every user
    on your Mac. Normal the user Application folder is hidden. When you have the library on an external harddrive you must make an Alias and Rename it to STEAM without .alias and put it to Admin- Application Support-Spectrasonics. All other libraries Trillian Keyskape usw must stay on top of the STEAM folder.
     
  8. STEPHEN94

    STEPHEN94 Newbie

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2016
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    thanks ill have to give it a try, also when i was trying to install trilian the first .iso fails to complete... would this be because of the folder not set up already?

    and to everyone else, my Application support folder is visible, and there is a specrasonics folder but inside there is nothing, no STEAM, steam, or anything. So I'm trying to copy the STEAM folder from omnisphere's installation over to it, in hopes that it'll fix everything?
     
  9. STEPHEN94

    STEPHEN94 Newbie

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2016
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Okay, so i merged the files and all that. omnisphere still working fine, but my main problem is that trilian won't install? im on OS X 10.11.4, the error message is still "The installation failed there was no software found to install" , i definitely have the software to install?
     
  10. Leopold

    Leopold Newbie

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2016
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Where did you get your copy of Trillian?
     
  11. STEPHEN94

    STEPHEN94 Newbie

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2016
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    audioz its AIR i believe
     
  12. whatsdown

    whatsdown Newbie

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2016
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    hello STEPHEN94. Did you figure out the problem you had? I'm having the exact same problem and I don't know what I'm doing wrong...
    But there is no Trilian download available on audioz, only an update. I tried 2 torrentz but got the same ERROR message on both...?!
     
  13. jean lwaybau

    jean lwaybau Noisemaker

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2018
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    4
    I had the same problem. I'm running High Sierra and the Trillian installer won't install on High Sierra or later mac osx, only on earlier verisons. Most of the Trillian torrents only have older installers with updates.
     
Loading...
Loading...