Omnisphere 2.6 for Mac, Standalone working but VST on FL Studio not

Discussion in 'Omnisphere' started by RobCrooks, Aug 9, 2020.

  1. RobCrooks

    RobCrooks Newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2020
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Copenhagen
    Hi Guys,

    sorry for coming back again with another noob question about the Omnisphere.
    I would like to tell you that before asking I read a lot of threads about the correct installation and patching of Omnisphere, plus I watched many videos.

    Currently I have the Standalone working but FL Studio is not able to recognize the VST and it's showing an "error" status in the Plugin Manager.

    The version of Omnisphere I downloaded is "Omnisphere 2.6 Complete (The Pirate)", I have Mac OSX 10.15 Catalina and the version of FL Studio I have is the Producer Edition 20.0.5.91 patched by HEXWARS. I run successfully the KeyGen with PlayOnMac patching both the VST and the ".component" file. I couldn't patch the files directly, so I copied them in the desktop, then the KeyGen patched them and then I copied the files back in their origin folder. I also set all the authorizations to the STEAM folder in reading and writing.

    I'm really not able to understand what else could be wrong in what I did.

    I would really appreciate if anybody could help me.

    Thank in advance.
     
    Last edited: Aug 10, 2020
  2.  
  3. RobCrooks

    RobCrooks Newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2020
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Copenhagen
    It kinda sucks but I still read about how to install and I can't find some mistake in what I did.
    Is here any other thread with a case similar to mine so I can read it?

    Thank you.
     
  4. RobCrooks

    RobCrooks Newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2020
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Copenhagen
  5. Smoove Grooves

    Smoove Grooves Audiosexual

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2019
    Messages:
    2,628
    Likes Received:
    954
    Okay. So if that PlayOnMac thing is Wine based, you may actually be patching them for a different system, I believe! ie a fake virtual Windows based system. I think you need to patch them where they should reside. Not on the desktop, but I don't know. This is possible with Wine based stuff, you just have to direct to the correct folder.
    But I may be talking rubbish. I'm just guessing, because Catalina is not where any of us with a working set-up have gone!
    Mojave was the safest to go up to, and even that still has various problems.
    I stayed on Sierra for my recording system.

    Look up here, or Google, how to codesign the plugins with the terminal command.
    I'm going to leave you to people who are on Catalina.
    Hopefully someone will chime in.

    edit:
    'Replaced'?

    Also, is there a way to rescan with your FL plugin manager, as we can with Logic?
    Btw, the amount of problems with FL I've read on here don't bode well, you know!
    This may well be an FL problem.
    Which version of FL?

    One more thing. Are you absolutely sure that the standalone actually works?
    Because standalone versions of plugs almost always need the VST to be patched to work.
    Also, Parallels with Windows in it integrates perfectly between the Windows system and your macOS.
    You can copy keys to clip board, etc. Windows can access all on your mac.
     
    Last edited: Aug 17, 2020
  6. RobCrooks

    RobCrooks Newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2020
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Copenhagen
    Basically PlayOnMac allows me to run files that are designed for Windows, like ".exe" ones and it's wine based. At least, this is what I understood, cause for some files a Wine window popped-up.
    When I tried to patch the files in the original folder, it was giving me an error and I've seen in a video tutorial a guy copying the files in the desktop, patching them and putting them back in the correct position.

    About Catalina, I was thinking as well to move to Mojave as it's definitely better supported and as far as I understood, Catalina is kinda pain in the ass.

    Every time I install some VSTs, I do a rescan with the Plugin Manager and I find the new installed ones, so I select them and I try if they are working or not. My version of FL is 20.0.5.91.
    The Standalone works cause I opened it and I started to try different sounds and it was normally working, no messages or other screens popping. And I really followed all the instructions I found here and that were "translated" to run with a Mac. It could be a tiny detail that I skipped but nothing major...
     
  7. Smoove Grooves

    Smoove Grooves Audiosexual

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2019
    Messages:
    2,628
    Likes Received:
    954
    Well yeah, I guessed that!
    Okay, so patching on desktop is okay, from what you saw. Was it The Pirate's release in the vid?
    I just added some other points above, including that you should try Parallels. Integrates perfectly.
    And try and codesign the plugins in Terminal.
     
  8. Smoove Grooves

    Smoove Grooves Audiosexual

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2019
    Messages:
    2,628
    Likes Received:
    954
    Code:
    sudo codesign -f -s - 
    and then either drop the plugin in Terminal after, or you may have to type the path if drag'n'drop doesn't work. I can't remember! Sorry.
    I reckon this may be your answer.
    ah. Just remembered, you may need to install xcode to be able to do that if it doesn't work.
    There is a space after the last -.
     
  9. RobCrooks

    RobCrooks Newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2020
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Copenhagen
    I have Xcode installed cause it was required by PlayOnMac but definitely I didn't try Parallels yet and I need to read and learn how to codesign.

    What does "sudo codesign -f -s -" stands for? Sorry, I'm really ignorant with this. I just switched to Mac after using only a PC for years and now I'm learning a new world.
    I was just fuckin unlucky cause my new iMac most probably has a hard disk problem (that's why I brought it to assistance)...
     
  10. Smoove Grooves

    Smoove Grooves Audiosexual

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2019
    Messages:
    2,628
    Likes Received:
    954
    If it's gonna happen, it will happen when they are brand new, straight from the factory.

    Open Terminal.
    Paste that code.
    Drop plugin after it...

    If that doesn't work, maybe it's to do with the stronger SIP in Catalina.
    In which case you will have to boot into Recovery mode and disable SIP temporarily.
    But let us see what happens with sudo codesign first...
     
    Last edited: Aug 17, 2020
  11. RobCrooks

    RobCrooks Newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2020
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Copenhagen
    Thank for all the insights, once I get my Mac back, I'll start trying and I'll keep you updated.
     
Loading...
Loading...