Noob: Limiting on Master, Busses

Discussion in 'Mixing and Mastering' started by SwingSwing, Mar 3, 2018.

1. SwingSwing

SwingSwing Member

Hi everyone,

these are certainly absolute beginner questions, but maybe someone wants to help me out here.
    1) If I understand Limiting right, it's ultra strong compression and thus there is a limit in dB - does it make sense then to always put a limiter on my master-channel to prevent clipping on the master which might damage my monitor speakers?

2) If limiting works like a stronger compressor and it works on audio that is created live - isn't it possible that the reaction of the limiter to a peak in dB is too slow such that clipping occurs?

3) I'm sometimes not sure when a sound is distorted, if it comes from the processing chain or my speakers. But if i have the speakers (JBL LSR 305) on 6/9 and the master-channel is not clipping the latter should definitely not be the case right?

4) Can someone point me towards some kind of introduction on how to use busses? I imagine they are some kind of mixing workflow improvement, but I don't really have any insight into that.

Thanks a lot :)

3. Backtired

Backtired Audiosexual

I'm a beginner myself, but I can answer you for 1)
    I used to play stuff around without a limiter on the master. Then one day I was using headphones and I don't really remember what I was doing, maybe trying out Phoscyon or whatever, and I enabled some kind of feedback loop that kept going and there was a huge resonance that kept going very fast lol it wasn't a pleasant sound
    Anyway yes, do put a limiter just for protection. I even read about a few specific plugins that instantly cut the sound if it exceeds a certain threshold, they're specifically made for protection but I don't really see the point