NI Reaktor doubts

Discussion in 'Software' started by Adam Ford, Nov 16, 2019.

  1. Adam Ford

    Adam Ford Kapellmeister

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2017
    Messages:
    80
    Likes Received:
    55
    Hi guys, hope you're all fine.

    I'm currently obsessed into learning modular and after training into VCV Rack I'd like to give a shot on that beautiful thing called Reaktor on sister site, but I don't fully understand what I should download as my first Reaktor (full release+update)?

    Also, I don't understand what Reaktor Blocks, Wires, Factory and all that stuff is.
    Are they included in the full Reaktor release and update? (Currently 6.3.1)

    If posting links isn't possible, I'd love to know at least the name of what release should I download and install first.

    Thanks in advance,

    happy modular!
     
  2.  
  3. Gyro Gearloose

    Gyro Gearloose Audiosexual

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2019
    Messages:
    1,733
    Likes Received:
    682
    Location:
    Germany
    blocks and wires are needed for reaktor6 modular shizzle when i remember right...never really dipped into r6 damn..
    blocks are modules i think
    -------------
    are reaktor 5 instru or effects same as cpu efficient like in version5 when using them in reaktor6 ?
     
    • Interesting Interesting x 1
    • List
  4. Adam Ford

    Adam Ford Kapellmeister

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2017
    Messages:
    80
    Likes Received:
    55
    Yeah I think Blocks are modules as well, but shouldn't they be included in Reaktor full release/update?
    :dunno:
     
  5. Pinkman

    Pinkman Audiosexual

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2016
    Messages:
    1,677
    Likes Received:
    1,511
    Having the full retail version of Reaktor versus having the free Player version makes a huge difference.
    The Player version does not allow access to the Panel view which is what Reaktor is really all about. Building your own shit. NI recently released Blocks Prime which allows for Front-Panel patching, similar to a modular environment and a whole new "Rack" system. For FREE. Use this for a bit and you'll notice that you are not allowed to load any (.ins) devices you've created or downloaded from the User Library into the ready-made racks. In the full version you get access to the same devices and can mod them however you want.
    Also be careful saving any Reaktor 5 patches in 6. R5 will not be able to open them again once they've been saved in 6.

    Here are some free Blocks:

    euro-reakt
    toybox

    NI User Library Blocks
     
    • Like Like x 4
    • Winner Winner x 3
    • List
  6. Gyro Gearloose

    Gyro Gearloose Audiosexual

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2019
    Messages:
    1,733
    Likes Received:
    682
    Location:
    Germany
    no...you ''''need'''' blocks,blocks prime,wired,factory ,usr libary...and the main rls...i had a look
    not need super8,prism etc
     
  7. Gyro Gearloose

    Gyro Gearloose Audiosexual

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2019
    Messages:
    1,733
    Likes Received:
    682
    Location:
    Germany
    :like::thanks:
     
  8. Xupito

    Xupito Audiosexual

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2012
    Messages:
    2,438
    Likes Received:
    1,318
    Location:
    Europe
    I'm interested in modular plugin designers but I find confusing this Reaktor thing too.
    For instance, can it export to VST?
     
  9. Adam Ford

    Adam Ford Kapellmeister

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2017
    Messages:
    80
    Likes Received:
    55

    Man thanks a lot for the effort and time of this reply but forgive me, I am super dumb at understanding sometimes.

    So, do you recommend to get Reaktor Full version and Free/Premium/User Blocks right?
     
  10. Pinkman

    Pinkman Audiosexual

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2016
    Messages:
    1,677
    Likes Received:
    1,511
    Everything "FREE" from NI is limited. Get the full versions whenever you can.

    @Xupito It is a VST. You can run it standalone but the lack of Reaktor's multi-core support to this day makes plugin use the way to go.
    It also has a the ability to record if you go to View>Show Player and Recorder which enables you to record audio from whatever maybe happening inside the program. Why this isn't built into Kontakt, an actual sampler is beyond me.

    I'm also pretty sure that the whole reason for 'Blocks Primes' was to give free users "some" of the modular routing options that were only available in the full version. They did create a whole new preset system for it and the routing is powerful but the actual "full" version is even more so.
     
    Last edited: Nov 16, 2019
    • Like Like x 2
    • Winner Winner x 2
    • Agree Agree x 1
    • List
  11. Gyro Gearloose

    Gyro Gearloose Audiosexual

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2019
    Messages:
    1,733
    Likes Received:
    682
    Location:
    Germany
    its vsti and vst effect...you have both...some rls have also reaktor 16 out.dll and so on.
    ---
    monark ,razor and such are individuall synths written in the reaktor edit view...
    this edit view is what made reaktor5 modular...still there in 6....but in 6 they did ad the fancy gui blocks modules on top....
    so this is 2 different modular apps in fact...from workflow....since both use same reaktor engine
     
    Last edited: Nov 16, 2019
    • Agree Agree x 2
    • Interesting Interesting x 1
    • List
  12. Adam Ford

    Adam Ford Kapellmeister

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2017
    Messages:
    80
    Likes Received:
    55
    Perfect than! I'll try to find Reaktor full release on sister site and test it, might strike a deal this month if it gets on sale!
    Thanks a lot!
     
  13. Pinkman

    Pinkman Audiosexual

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2016
    Messages:
    1,677
    Likes Received:
    1,511
    The Reaktor 6 VST/AU is also multi-channel. It just doesn't state it in the name like the R5 versions did. The standalone is capable of 40 channels which is one advantage to running the VST.
    Screen Shot 2019-11-16 at 3.38.16 PM.png
    But again, you can always run multiple instances of the plugin.

    Also, on Windows you can run multiple instances of a program just by launching them multiple times. You can run multiple instances of Reaktor standalone on macOS with this command: "open -n" in terminal and dragging whatever app you need into the Terminal window.

    open -n /Applications/Native\ Instruments/Reaktor\ 6/Reaktor\ 6.app

    I'm starting to go off-topic. I just really love Reaktor and what it can do.

    Here's a cool way to communicate between different Reaktor instances in Maschine.
     
    • Like Like x 3
    • Useful Useful x 1
    • List
  14. Gyro Gearloose

    Gyro Gearloose Audiosexual

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2019
    Messages:
    1,733
    Likes Received:
    682
    Location:
    Germany
    :cheers::boombox:
     
  15. Adam Ford

    Adam Ford Kapellmeister

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2017
    Messages:
    80
    Likes Received:
    55
    It seems that to install Reaktor 6.3.1 Update you need at least 6.2.0 Full Release but it's impossible to find.

    Someone suggested to download it from NI site or Native Access, but it's not there either, they have 6.3.1 as well...
    I'm confused
     
  16. Pinkman

    Pinkman Audiosexual

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2016
    Messages:
    1,677
    Likes Received:
    1,511
  17. Satai

    Satai Platinum Record

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2013
    Messages:
    346
    Likes Received:
    295
    Reaktor + Reaktor Library + Reaktor User library is the main package you want. You will be building synths/fx/sequencers etc. at a much lower, deeper level than normal modular synthesis. It's only a little bit more higher level than writing your own code, but visual and based on patching.

    Reaktor Blocks and such came later on, and consists of blocks that resemble normal modular synth modules: oscillators, modulators, fx, etc., that NI made using the above tech from Reaktor. So you get the sound of Reaktor, but don't have to know as much about audio to patch stuff together, since they're normal modular-synth style blocks. The idea is to build with them and dip into the nitty gritty if/when you want to...
     
    • Like Like x 2
    • Agree Agree x 1
    • Interesting Interesting x 1
    • List
  18. voidSeeker

    voidSeeker Kapellmeister

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2016
    Messages:
    117
    Likes Received:
    40
    Another cool thing about Reaktor and those on Mac, is that in Logic, Reaktor can plug directly into the MidiFX slot, allowing you to create MidiFX plugins that can generate and/or process midi information in real time...
     
  19. Pinkman

    Pinkman Audiosexual

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2016
    Messages:
    1,677
    Likes Received:
    1,511
    You can also do this with the Reaktor 5/6 FX plugin in virtually every DAW. Try Spiral. It's awesome.
    Even though it has its own scale parameter, if you use Ableton Live, add more Scale devices for more control.
     
  20. Fudsey Plange

    Fudsey Plange Audiosexual

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2011
    Messages:
    1,556
    Likes Received:
    1,171
    Location:
    Fuqnose
    NI Reaktor doubts

    Can you get it at the sister site?
     
  21. KungPaoFist

    KungPaoFist Audiosexual

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2017
    Messages:
    1,117
    Likes Received:
    702
    Location:
    CA
    If you have issues installing good luck using... When I opened it I saw the end times and the zombie apocolypse. Reaktor frightens and confuses me... So complicated
     
    • Agree Agree x 1
    • Funny Funny x 1
    • List
Loading...
Similar Threads - Reaktor doubts Forum Date
Reaktor 6 & Libraries keygen crashing, please help Software Nov 21, 2019
Ableton Live 10 + Reaktor 6 Live Nov 10, 2019
Korg MS-20 Clone (Reaktor) Polyphony? Software Jun 16, 2019
Help with Reaktor/ Window Software Jun 2, 2019
Free REAKTOR BLOCKS from UNFILTERED AUDIO & TOYBOX... Software May 1, 2019
Loading...