NEXUS users and synth experts please help!

Discussion in 'how to make "that" sound' started by Jonny, Dec 27, 2015.

1. Jonny

Jonny Newbie

can someone with NEXUS help me out? starts at 1:04 I just got nexus and was wondering what they did to these sounds to make them sound this way, because when i put them together they don't sound much like that... I'm new to all this synth stuff but i love this EXACT sound, which i think is called a big room synth? sorry for the noobiness. ps. any tips about creating sounds like this is appreciated (Y)

3. jayxflash

jayxflash Guest

At 1:04 -1:14 what you have is a pluck (with a synth layer in the back). I am assuming that you already find that exact preset - or maybe is a layer of those 6 presets which appear on the screen at 1:04?
    ...But what is the context you put them in? It's the same minimal context as in the demo? Or your track is busier? This is valid for any track: as it gets busier (many elements) it gets harder and harder to make each one punch through the mix. In these conditions is not a synth problem, is rather a mixing one.

4. mixalis

mixalis Newbie

You can load on any pluck sound from any synth, maybe layer a few with some bassier sound (but don't over do it). In some of the layers increase slightly the attack. So the punch arrives from from pluck1 and the after-attack sound comes from pluck2. I am talking a few miliseconds here.
    Then, add a lofi effect, like Redux or Errosion, there are many that reduce the sample rate and bit rate. But just a little bit.
    That is what the sound at 1:04 has. And to make it massive: add some reverb on the layer's group bus, as a Send FX, and put a compressor after the reverb.