Newbie to Daws asking for recommendation

Discussion in 'DAW' started by Neil Newton, Sep 9, 2023.

1. Neil Newton

Neil Newton Newbie

Hi,

New to DAWS though I did use calkwalk circa 2008. Currently we are waiting for Cakewalk next to get past the beta phase and announce the cost.
    I am not going to count on cake walk. Here are my goals:
    1. I have my voice and my guitar which will go into two separate tracks.
    2. Since I don't have any friends to play drum and bass (and I don't want to pay for studio time) I am hoping to get fake loops/vsti or whatever they are called that I can manipulate to create a fake drum and bass track.

I am really quite new to this and I don't know what DAW and what other software I will need to do what I want. Any recommendations would be appreciated. I am trying to keep the price down but I realize it might not be easy to do.It may also involve me adding another eight gigs to my lsaptop.

Thanks for listening.

Neil

3. Stevie Dude

Stevie Dude Audiosexual

Studio One. It has everything you need, lightweight, pretty GUI and easy to learn/use than you thought it is. Subscription plan is affordable ($180 annually) and comes with tons of stuff, great customer support, awesome Youtube channels, frequently updated and you can learn everything in 1 day with tutorial video or youtube and get to work right away since you already familiar with Cakewalk. The best DAW to program realistic drum IMO, from simple Loop style to advanced MIDI & even notation if need it, especially when laying out ideas.

• Agree Agree x 2
    • Winner Winner x 1
    • List
  4. Havana

Havana Platinum Record

As far as DAWs are concerned, Reaper will be the cheapest DAW out there at $60.

• Agree Agree x 2
    • Like Like x 1
    • List
  5. Martel

Martel Platinum Record

I agree with Steve, Studio one is a friendly environment.

But you mentioned the price and I understand that you are lacking resources in your computer.