New Studio One update not reading midi notes.

Discussion in 'Mixing and Mastering' started by Parasite-B, Oct 12, 2017.

  1. Parasite-B

    Parasite-B Kapellmeister

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2016
    Messages:
    79
    Likes Received:
    44
    Hey, all! I have no idea if anyone else is having this problem, but since the latest update for SO3 from our much beloved sister site, I'm having problems with my midi notes. I'm getting a problem of midi notes skipping when they're on the dot. If I offset them a few milliseconds, they're recognised, no problem, but on the snap - which is how I prefer to work - I get a lot of missing notes. Is anyone else experiencing the same problem? Does anyone have advice as to how to work around this problem? I really don't want to have to go into every pattern and adjust them my the tiniest amount so everything plays. That shouldn't be the way. I really would appreciate any advice, tips, workarounds that can help me get back to my original workflow.

    I'm using Windows 10 Pro x64. All my drivers are all up-to-date. I don't have the best PC in the world, but I used to be able to run 20+ tracks, without any dropout. Now I'm getting cut midi with just one track.

    Seriously, I'd appreciate any help. I'm no where near as savvy as the majority here. I've uninstalled, reinstalled everything, with zero affect. Never happened with the old version. I feel like I'm bleating on, so going to cut it now. But yeah, hope that someone can help me out here.

    Thank you in advance!

    Edit: After watching what's going on, the midi is picking up, but there's no sound to the respective VST.
     
    Last edited: Oct 12, 2017
  2.  
  3. YFManagement

    YFManagement Newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2017
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    1
    i'd stick with 3.3.2 IMO , cause after the update my major hit records that had 150+ tracks per session crash instantly . aftere reverting back i was able to use my gpu hack again =)
     
  4. Fudsey Plange

    Fudsey Plange Platinum Record

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2011
    Messages:
    330
    Likes Received:
    233
    Location:
    Fuqnose
    I can't reproduce your problem on my rig @ 3.5.2 64 on Win 10.
     
  5. korte1975

    korte1975 Platinum Record

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2014
    Messages:
    545
    Likes Received:
    224
    Location:
    Ireland
    i think windows 8.1 is the best one for audio production, w10 gave me all kinda problems during its very short time on my laptop rig
     
    • Interesting Interesting x 2
    • Agree Agree x 1
    • Disagree Disagree x 1
    • Nasty Nasty x 1
    • List
  6. Parasite-B

    Parasite-B Kapellmeister

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2016
    Messages:
    79
    Likes Received:
    44
    Thanks for the messages, guys. Reverting back to a previous version of Windows is, of course, going to be a ball-ache. Really don't want to have to format and restart everything because of this, though my system has become increasing slower with all the latest Win10 updates... Not cool beans. Going back to a previous version of S1 is an option, but sadly I've loaded a few tracks, and saved them on the updated version. Going back I won't be able to access these files. God damn... Guess I'll just have to grin and bare it until the next update. Marvelous.

    Thank you again though for your replies!

    @Fudsey Plange, off topic, but damn nice signature!
     
  7. The_Disturbed

    The_Disturbed Member

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2017
    Messages:
    43
    Likes Received:
    9
    are you sure the midi is playing in the right midi channel?

    I would definitely not go for a revert to win 8.1
     
  8. Maduka

    Maduka Member

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2012
    Messages:
    70
    Likes Received:
    11
    That is also happening to me... On MacOs Sierra 10.12.6
     
  9. charliesan

    charliesan Noisemaker

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2014
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    3
    Same here on win 8.1 but not every time...
     
  10. Parasite-B

    Parasite-B Kapellmeister

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2016
    Messages:
    79
    Likes Received:
    44
    @The_Disturbed absolutely certain, buddy. It has to be a problem with the new update, as other people are getting the same. As charliesan said, it's not every time. It happens at random. A track can be playing fine, then a sudden drum-hit drops out for no reason. Pretty frustrating. Totally puzzled by this.
     
  11. The_Disturbed

    The_Disturbed Member

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2017
    Messages:
    43
    Likes Received:
    9
    You're right. I noticed it too.

    i got this from the support forum of Presonus:
     
    • Like Like x 1
    • Love it! Love it! x 1
    • List
  12. Parasite-B

    Parasite-B Kapellmeister

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2016
    Messages:
    79
    Likes Received:
    44
    @The_Disturbed thank you so much for that, man! I'm not able to get on and do that tonight, but I'll let you know if that fixes things for me tomorrow! Thank you so much for the info, man! :wink::wink::wink:
     
  13. The_Disturbed

    The_Disturbed Member

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2017
    Messages:
    43
    Likes Received:
    9
    you're welcome. I hope it helps.
     
  14. Parasite-B

    Parasite-B Kapellmeister

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2016
    Messages:
    79
    Likes Received:
    44
    @The_Disturbed sadly neither suggestions have worked for me. The only work around I've found so far is by humanizing the notes, so they're all slightly displaced. I guess waiting for another update is the only real workaround right now. Hey well! Appreciate all your help though, man! But yeah, humanizing seems to be the only fix right now. I can live with that.
     
  15. Matt777

    Matt777 Platinum Record

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2015
    Messages:
    339
    Likes Received:
    158
    As far as I understand the problem, I can not recreate it.

    - So the dropouts happen, when the midi note is exactly on the beat/grid? Like if you put them in with a step sequencer, hard Q or have snap enabled?
    - It doesn't happen every time.. you mean, you can open the same sequence (project) a couple of times and it can either work or not? Is it always the same vst (which one?), or it doesn't matter?
    - I'm 98% sure it has nothing to do with the OS and/or daw version (?). I understand others are having same problem, but not lots. Imagine how many ppl use S1 - this thread would have 15 pages.

    If you give me the answers I can try to push it till it breaks..;)

    3.5.2.44603 Win x64 (Built on Sep 21 2017), Win 10 CU
     
  16. The_Disturbed

    The_Disturbed Member

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2017
    Messages:
    43
    Likes Received:
    9

    I've tried to recreate it. It seems to happen to me when i drag and drop in a midi file from outside the DAW into a song.
    It was the same kind of mute thing that happens when you use a demo vsti.
     
  17. virusg

    virusg Platinum Record

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2012
    Messages:
    626
    Likes Received:
    171
    Location:
    near you
    after reading thins i can confirm that its happening same thing here, on all projects and not always, at first i thought it was my cpu loosing cycles or some desync in the cores ...now i know it isnt, we need an update ...latest version here too
     
  18. DanielFaraday

    DanielFaraday Platinum Record

    Joined:
    May 20, 2015
    Messages:
    427
    Likes Received:
    150
    Yup. same here.
     
  19. Parasite-B

    Parasite-B Kapellmeister

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2016
    Messages:
    79
    Likes Received:
    44
    @Matt777, first question, correct. When the note is exactly on the beat. I draw in everything by hand, snapped to grid. As for VST, I'm not sure about that. Kontakt in some tracks, Addictive Drums 2 in others, Omnisphere in others. It seems to pick and choose what VST, and when the dropouts happen. There doesn't seem to be any specific pattern, as far as I can tell. I would record a video and post, but I'm not at my music stuff today. As for it not happening every time, I mean I can loop a specific area, it will play fine a couple of times, then dropout, go back to normal, drop out. There really doesn't seem to be anything specific that's causing it. I'll record a video tomorrow and post. Definitely the easiest way to show what I mean. I completely agree with what you're saying about OS and/or DAW, but I've never had this problem before. I don't know, man.

    @The_Disturbed, exactly like that sort of thing! Best way I can describe it right now.
     
  20. Matt777

    Matt777 Platinum Record

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2015
    Messages:
    339
    Likes Received:
    158
    Of course there can be million things that can cause midi 2 vst problems. Try isolating them one by one. Chaging OS would be last on my list. The DAW version (plus some given circumstances) seems more probable. If you have the possibility, try first installing (same) S1 on another comp. If you'll make the vid, I'll try to check.
    I know this doesn't apply to the specific problem (as it has nothing to do /w quantization), but I remembered watching this video and can only imagine this guy losing it before realizing his D2 was a trigger for note erase (@ 8:00 min->), lol. There are other useful checks mentioned, so I'm posting it here..

     
  21. Parasite-B

    Parasite-B Kapellmeister

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2016
    Messages:
    79
    Likes Received:
    44
    @Matt777, I could totally imagine him losing it before he realised what was going there! :rofl:I know I would have! Still, very informative video, though!

    I've tried recording this video, but now I'm having problems with my audio drivers, and being bale to record stereo sound... :suicide: Resorting to uninstalling, and reinstalling Studio One, again. Hopefully be able to have something to show soon... I would not hold your breath.:thumbsdown:
     
Loading...
Similar Threads - Studio update reading Forum Date
FL Studio 12.5 latest official release (Build 59 Update, 3-Aug-2017) FL Studio Aug 4, 2017
Bitwig Studio updated to v2.1.2 BitWig Jul 14, 2017
PreSonus Studio One Pro 3.5 update with major features Software News May 23, 2017
(image-line.com) FL Studio 12.4.2 [UPDATE] FL Studio Mar 22, 2017
Fl Studio *Update Only*? Software Nov 1, 2016
Loading...