Never happy with anything & nothing to show for?

Discussion in 'Mixing and Mastering' started by Blake McCreery, Aug 1, 2022.

1. Blake McCreery

Blake McCreery Newbie

Dry

I started playing music 17~ yrs ago and so while I played guitar,bass, and drums I never thought to record myself. My brother did in 4 track and a few failed attempts on old Samplitude but I never took a hint. Well, I am what you would call a ‘HIFI Audiophile’ and last year I thought to myself, “Holyshyt I have spent 10’s of 1000’s over the past years on gear but I don’t invest for my own music.”

That realization disturbed me to no end as Ive been spending money to listen and enjoy someone else’s music and still does. The money, energy, time, and music I have forgotten. Well, last year I had that epiphany and steam rolled right into buying gear to get recording. All the essentials and now recording gear dominates my room while an Alesis DM8 sits by the IMAC 27’, Netkar Keys MIDI, JBL 306P monitors/Behringer Truth 3201A, and Presonus USB 96 for an interface. I have Studio one 5 (presonus sphere professional pkg. w.e) with an ass load of plugins and tons of effects while also having my old skool guitar cab is a 60’s TOTL Barzilay cabinet(one of the finest cab makers period then) with a true Triaxle Jenson HC888 single 12’ fullrange driver. Its is paired with an early QSC 3.7a bridged mono amplifier that as a combo sounds incredible. Throw a Proco and a compressor pedal onto it sounds tits. So, I gave all this background so you will not have to give an answer with little information about me because I am new and being my first post it’s kinda necessary. Now to my issue and hopefully with all that out of the way you will be able to give me your best advice. Something like this, a lot of information is better than too little but funny enough the rest will be brief.