Need help writing my very fictional novel about a thief

Discussion in 'Lounge' started by macros mk2, Feb 28, 2023.

1. macros mk2

macros mk2 Platinum Record

Hello Audiosex Forum,

as you all know, I am a writer of FICTION who prides themselves on including realistic elements within my ENTIRELY MADE UP stories. As these are in NO WAY REAL and I am a very upstanding citizen I am hoping to get some feedback for this HYPOTHETICAL situation.

Here is where the story is so far: there is a guy with zero money and not much left to lose whose main passion is producing music. recently they were forced to get rid of their studio equipment and have realized their 10+ year old budget laptop is woefully underpowered for... most everything. This character is a bit in the moral greyzone on certain things, especially when it comes to perhaps taking from large corporations- they don't think they're Robin Hood they just don't care too much anymore.

Now, the opening scene for this novel needs to pull the reader in with some high stakes action, and I've been thinking that it might make sense for that scene to be a bold maneuver of this character going into a large chain store where moral is low, security is lax and high-end PC laptops are available and walking out with one. I'm wondering if folks here might indulge this completely ludicrous scenario so that I can trouble shoot it any issues in realism that the character might encounter.