Need help with this home studio

Discussion in 'Studio' started by Afecto, Sep 4, 2014.

1. Afecto

Afecto Newbie

Hello. My name is Tom. Im 25 years old. been making music for alittle over 2 years now.

I just spent 8 hours re-arranging my room so that one of the speakers wouldnt get cornered. Since i am no expert at all, are there room for any improvements here? Any thoughts? My speakers is not far from the walls at all and in one of the pictures you can see how far "both" speakers are from the walls.

In one of the pictures you can see my chair vs bed situation. So i cant move much.. The link to all the pics is right under here. Please share opinions!

Dropbox link for real pictures - https://www.dropbox.com/sh/udh17c35wk0syym/AAByU0aNMgMdDtfBBf45Y9oVa?dl=0

[​IMG]

3. MNDSTRM

MNDSTRM Platinum Record

I think you have the best layout that you could possibly manage in a room of that size and with the existing furniture.

From the size of your monitors im guessing they're the 8" model, which could cause a lot of bass issues in such a small room. Since the width of the room is 2.85m, you will have issues with frequencies below 120hz as these will not have the distance required to develop a full wavelength before reflecting back upon themselves.

equation is: wavelength = speed of sound / frequency, where the speed of sound is 340 m/s

I recommend you look into purchasing bass traps for the corners, and using at least 3" thick insulated panels for behind your seating area, this way the waves will be absorbed instead of reflected.

Also panels located at your first reflection points on the side walls. These can be thinner, like 2" (1" panels are utterly useless).

The most important tip i can give you is to not trust your room, but rather learn its flaws and compensate. Even million dollar rooms have some flaws, they just have less of them.

Best of luck.

4. lampwiikk

lampwiikk Member