Need help on drum layering

Discussion in 'Working with Sound' started by LordFunky, Oct 13, 2014.

1. LordFunky

LordFunky Ultrasonic

Hello guys !

I need your help to understand and success a drum layering on an specific easy example.
    I would like to find the right way on the "Forever Undefeated" from DrumKitSupply to get the same sound as the demo (you can get the kit on the sister site)

http://soundcloud.com/drumkitsupply/forever-undefeated-drum-kit-wwwdrumkitsupplycom

In the kit, which samples do you will use to layer drums elements to arrive to the same result.
    Which treatment will you use to get the same sound ?

Thanks.

:break:

3. Evorax

Evorax Rock Star

Hey Lordy,

I'm going to try to stick to your subject, but also telling my thoughts and opinion.

I'm not an urban producer (lately) but i started learning production on urban genres/hip-hop.

There's one important aspect in the music production which is common to all the genres and i learned over time. In order to achieve "the same sound" of those drums one-shots/samples you mentioned,you have to memorize as much samples from your personal sounds/samples library, for example, when you hear a certain cymbal into a demo track (like the one you mentioned) you should be able to name it in your head once you hear a certain element, for example saying "oh, that's an 808/909/acoustic-splashy cymbal and i have it located in the X sample pack/folder named with the a.k.a Muffinpot 008 Cymbal" or whatever, you know what i mean.

That's how i do it and it works for me. I memorized TONS of my samples just by keeping working with them daily and also auditioning and swapping through them and see how they sound and how they fit together, etc.