NEED HELP - Omnisphere 2 patching and STEAM FOLDER? MAC

Discussion in 'Software' started by Hostforg0ld, Aug 2, 2016.

  1. Hostforg0ld

    Hostforg0ld Newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2016
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hello Everyone. I love music, but when it comes to the technical stuff, I need a straight forward explanation. I know you know what I am referring to when I say I am stuck on the step of installing Omnisphere 2 where I have to patch the file. I am using WineBottler to open the .exe file. I do not know what file to patch though. In windows, I've seen its the Omnisphere.dll file, but Mac, there is nothing like it to open. I tried patching the Omnisphere vst file and component and both give me a message saying Cannot Write File. Can someone PLEASE explain to me step by step, without using jargon ;), what file I am suppose to patch to move on to the authorization phase? You will be very much praised by myself if someone can!

    Also, I see there is a STEAM FOLDER. I didn't do anything with this folder as it holds contents and the directions didnt tell me to do anything with it, so if there is something Im suppose to do with this folder using Mac, Ill be happy to know that as well!

    THANK YOU
     
  2.  
  3. michaelbrac

    michaelbrac Guest

    On mac u need to to show contant package in the vst and au and copy each file in the vst and ay
    I mean enter into the vst file in make i dont renember how it called maybe show contant .
    But u need to pull out the file in the vst file.
    Than copy it to your desktop that take this file to windows than open r2r keygn than go in r2r keygn to patch file than patch the file u brought from mac.than take yhe file u patched and copy into the vst file overwrite the file u have there.
    Thats it for vst. Same for au.
    Im not near to the make so i cant tell u the same name the mac call how to enter files . maybe it is show contant.
    But u nedd to pull out a file in the vst file on mac and bring it to windows patch it and bring it back yo the vst file in mac.
    Good luck
     
  4. Hostforg0ld

    Hostforg0ld Newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2016
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Thank you Michael for your response though, I really need someone to respond with in depth clarification. Maybe someone can post a video doing the set up on their mac for myself if its not too much trouble! I'm in desperate need of help!
     
  5. Cav Emp

    Cav Emp Audiosexual

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2014
    Messages:
    1,989
    Likes Received:
    1,635
    I'm not sure what happens in Macs, but when you get that sort of message on windows it's usually because the plug-in is installed to a folder inside of Program Files, which is regulated with certain restrictions to prevent you from messing around in there too much without knowing what you're doing. So the way to fix this on Windows is to right click the keygen file and click run as administrator. Alternatively, right click > properties >compatibility tab > check the "Run as Administrator" box

    Like I said, I know nothing about Macs, but maybe there's a similar routine on OSX?
     
  6. Shatterling

    Shatterling Member

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2015
    Messages:
    18
    Likes Received:
    14
    To patch the files:

    1. Locate the .vst and .component files. I assume you know where they are judging by your post.
    2. Right-click the .vst file, then click "Show Package Contents" in the drop-down menu.
    3. Your Finder window will now be open to a single folder named “Contents”; click on it, then click on the folder titled “MacOS”. Inside you will find a single file named “Omnisphere”
    4. Hold down “alt/option” on your keyboard, then click and drag “Omnisphere” to your desktop. Alternatively, you can right-click it, select “copy” from the menu, right-click on your desktop, then click “paste.” If you’ve done it correctly, a copy of the “Omnisphere” file will now be on your desktop. Leave the Finder window showing the .vst package contents open.
    5. Now go to the keygen you have open, click patch, and then, in the browser that appears, find and select the “Omnisphere” file you copied to your desktop. I believe the keygen will inform you if the patch was successful, but I don’t have it open in front of me, so I’m not sure.
    6. Once the patching is done, take that same “Omnisphere” file from your desktop, and drag it back into the Finder window you left open (just drag it normally; it doesn’t need to be copied this time). Drop it into the “MacOS” folder with the original “Omnisphere” file and you will get a popup asking if you want to overwrite the original; click yes.
    7. Repeat the process with the .component plugin.
    8. Finished! From here, you just need to open the plugin in your DAW and finish the process as per the crack instructions.

    To place the “STEAM” folder:

    It must be placed in your user library for Omnisphere to work. This is the path: ~/Library/Application Support/Spectrasonics

    The easiest way to get to it is to open a new Finder window, click “Go” in the toolbar at the top of the screen, click "Go to Folder..." in the drop down menu, type in the path, then press Enter. The finder will open to that location. Drag/Drop the “STEAM” folder into the “Spectrasonics” folder.

    It’s possible that the Spectrasonics folder hasn’t been created yet at this step. It’s been a while, so I can’t recall. In any case, if the Spectrasonics file isn’t there, or if you typed in the path and it doesn’t open, you’ll need to create it. First, click Go again and type in ”~/Library/Application Support” (Without the quotes, obviously). Now right click on your desktop and click “New Folder,” and then rename that folder “Spectrasonics.” Drag that folder into the “Application Support” directory that opened when you used the “Go” command. Now Drag the STEAM folder into your new “Spectrasonics” folder.

    That’s it. Cheers!
     
    Last edited: Aug 3, 2016
    • Like Like x 3
    • Winner Winner x 1
    • Love it! Love it! x 1
    • List
  7. Hostforg0ld

    Hostforg0ld Newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2016
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Awesome I'm going to try it out and hopefully it works! I will let you know but this answer is very detailed and clear to process so I very much appreciate this! THANK YOU!
     
  8. Hostforg0ld

    Hostforg0ld Newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2016
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Ok so I followed the steps, but here is the problem I am having. I am using WineBottler to open the .exe crack. Using this, I am not able to see files on my desktop for some reason. Its really shit and horrible navigation. Can you remember what you used to open the .exe file and continue with the steps appropriately?
     
  9. gorri

    gorri Ultrasonic

    Joined:
    May 8, 2014
    Messages:
    89
    Likes Received:
    32
    Location:
    Earth
    Use KeyGen APP, google and download...
     
  10. Hostforg0ld

    Hostforg0ld Newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2016
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    I did, I didn't see anything viable that came up that would fix the issue I am encountering. Can you give me a specific please? Again, Im using WineBottler on my Mac, and when opening up the navigation in the crack, I can't see files on my desktop so I can follow the described steps @Shatterling laid out for myself. Really need the help asap please!

    Thank you!
     
  11. Hostforg0ld

    Hostforg0ld Newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2016
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    WOW You DID [email protected] that was the solution was just dragging the files into WineFiles! Thanks a bunch you are awesome! All of you are who helped me out through this process! :)
     
  12. rk2000

    rk2000 Newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2016
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    I'm looking to install Omnisphere in the exact same way you did (on osx, using wine to run .exe files) and since I read you were successful in doing it, would you be able to show me the download link you used in order to install all the necessary files?
     
  13. moncholo

    moncholo Newbie

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2016
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    hey everyone! the instructions here are helping a lot. I understand them but I'm having a problem.

    the one thing I'm having trouble with is, I can't find the component/AU/VST files anywhere! They're not in the usual Library/Audio/Plug-Ins directory, so I don't know where to look for them. Weird thing is that the plug-in is opening in my DAW, so they must be somewhere. Am I missing something? Any help with this would be greatly appreciated. Thanks!
     
  14. musicallytennis

    musicallytennis Newbie

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2016
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    I'm in the exact same boat!! Downloaded the files, but can't find the vst, component anywhere. Anyone have an idea?
     
  15. musicallytennis

    musicallytennis Newbie

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2016
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hey man, thanks for the detailed response! I'm in the boat of actually not being able to find the .vst and .component files. I've run the installation package, but the files are nowhere to be found. Any ideas where they might be? Thanks!
     
  16. signalflow

    signalflow Producer

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2016
    Messages:
    388
    Likes Received:
    95
    If your in user/your name/ libabry / audio you are in the wrong place. Goto the Hard drive / libabry / audio there you will find the vst / components. FYI componants and AU are the same thing.
     
  17. musicallytennis

    musicallytennis Newbie

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2016
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Thanks signal. Also, once Omnisphere has been installed on the hard drive, can I move the STEAM folder to my external hard drive to free up the 60gb from my hard drive? Will I have to change the path location of Omnisphere manually?
     
  18. signalflow

    signalflow Producer

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2016
    Messages:
    388
    Likes Received:
    95
    Yes I would absolutely recommend this however once you move the steam folder you will need to create an alias (I thinks it's by holding down apple and option then drag and drop)where the steam folder use to be then when you start the daw and load Omnisphere you will have to refresh your patch libabry in Omnisphere.
     
  19. iluvhiphop

    iluvhiphop Kapellmeister

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2012
    Messages:
    120
    Likes Received:
    55
    The patching was easy enough. Been trying to get this running for 2 weeks now, but I keep getting this load of crap:


    Any bright minds? EDIT: I might wanna add that the folder is writeable, and so are all files and subfolders. I tried moving the steam folder to my documents too, creating an alias that leads there. I am running a 2013 15inch MBP, latest OS. Thanks in advance :)
     
  20. signalflow

    signalflow Producer

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2016
    Messages:
    388
    Likes Received:
    95
    Try hitting the refresh button at the bottom left which looks like a circular arrow
     
  21. iluvhiphop

    iluvhiphop Kapellmeister

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2012
    Messages:
    120
    Likes Received:
    55
    Tried, nothing happens. Do I need to install another version of Omnisphere first or something? I know it says update, but it installs just fine. There was no previous installation of Omnisphere on my Mac, and I only want Keyscape.
     
Loading...
Similar Threads - NEED HELP Omnisphere Forum Date
Help needed to identify Omnisphere presets bank Presets, Patches May 2, 2019
Omnisphere 2.6 help needed Software Apr 8, 2019
Omnisphere Bug - Need Help Software Dec 26, 2018
my omnisphere cannot load soundsourceneed help i think Software Mar 23, 2018
Spectrasonics Omnisphere help needed please! Software Mar 3, 2018
Loading...