Need help - music for vlog

Discussion in 'Genre Specific Production' started by Ankit, May 23, 2017.

Tags:
  1. Ankit

Ankit Guest

In upcoming days, I have to make one 3min music every day for a vlog my friend is starting. There will be no voice-over, music only. I am not a musician and a producer. I have learned all the basic stuff here. But I face problem in making a good sounding track.
    I need is to make music that just works. I want to add some ethnic percussions/instruments.
    Every kind of advice is appreciated.

Can I use samples posted on sister site? How to stay safe?
    What genre to listen for ideas?
    What kind of song arrangement?

Last edited by a moderator: May 23, 2017
  3. Talmi

Talmi Audiosexual

I think it's good to get in the water and just start swimming, so it's nice that you begin by having a deadline, and a goal to the productions you're about to accomplish.
    Is there a specific genre you're aiming ? For ideas well it depend what the vblog aims at, what it's about and all. Hyped music are all the "future" genres. References isn't what's missing out there, but you gotta know a bit what you're aiming. Once you have a more precised idea, things can get much clearer.
    Regarding samples, just avoid construction kits and things of the sort, they are recognizable so if you use them in a commercial fashion and it's pirated, well not good. For samples of drums, instruments, fxs, synths, and all, well it's all fair game, a lot sound close to each other (in a specific genre, usually there are specific kind of samples), they won't be recongnisable in context, specially after you've processed them.
    The arrangement relies partly on the genre you pick.

• Like Like x 1
    • Agree Agree x 1
    • List
  4. Ankit

Ankit Guest

@Talmi

Genres from

to

It is not genre specific. But they are different than a normal song. Should I use happy sounding major scales or it doesn't matter?