Need advice

Discussion in 'Kontakt' started by rickking, Aug 17, 2017.

1. rickking

rickking Member

My main drive on my PC has reached saturation (read -"full" ) Would it be safe for me to move the libraries for kontakt to one of my auxiliary drives? How should I do it to ensure I don't loose any data? c drive has 2 TB and I have another 9 TB total on other drives combined with maybe a TB available on any one drive. I believe that I could free up about 800 Mb on C.
    (I do a lot of graphic art on this computer as well as writing assignments and novels (I am also a author) in addition to the composing and recording work.)

3. Kloud

Kloud Guest

As a sort of general rule you don't really want your kontakt libraries stored on your main drive anyway. Can affect performance in a negative way.
    Yes it is safe to move your libraries to an external drive. SSD is in the main the best option as Kontakt needs so much disc access for transfer and conversion on the fly :yes:
    Basically you can do it several ways - One simple way is simply move the library manually, then you need to locate the NKR & NKC or nicnt depending on the type of the library.
    For player simply locate nicnt and add library. Kontakt will then search the samples and may ask for locating the resources.
    Library will then be linked and details of the library etc will be stored in the registry so Kontakt knows where the samples and resources are located. Sometimes there can be a few problems with linking the samples when kontakt is looking in the wrong place etc.
    All unprotected libraries can be stored in various ways and you can load them in various ways.
    Can transfer the libraries in bulk but would probably add then one by one and then perform a batch resave to speed up loading of samples. Samples always better in compressed NCW format wherever possible.
    So would look at conversion from WAV to NCW in order as to save you significant disk space.