Need advice on a VEP slave build

Discussion in 'Computer Hardware' started by smoakyyy, May 29, 2020.

1. smoakyyy

smoakyyy Newbie

Hello everyone!

I'm looking to buy an old HP server for slaving VEP, and would like some insight.

I have two options for the server, both are HP Proliant DL360P G8 server.

Option 1 -
    Product Type: 1U Rackmount
    Processors: Intel(R) Xeon(R) CPU E5-2620 @ 2.0GHz ,total 12 Core
    Storage: 2x 300GB SAS HDD
    Memory: 128GB DDR3RAM
    Hard Drives: Up to 8x 2.5" SAS/SATA hard drives
    Maximum Internal Storage: Up to 32.4 TB of data
    I/O Slots: 3 PCIe Gen3 Slots and 1 PCIe Gen2
    Remote Management: HP Integrated Lights-Out (iLO) for ProLiant
    Price - 699.66USD

Option 2 -
    2*Xeon E5-2650 v2,
    96GB Ram,
    4x600GB SAS,
    p420i with 512MB cache and battery,
    dual power supply
    Price - 637.34USD

I am very new to this and would like some advice. Which one should i take, and do I need any other hardware other than SSDs to get it running?
    Thanks in advance.

3. tzzsmk

tzzsmk Audiosexual

you should aim for at least 3GHz cpu as bare minimum,
    lots of RAM is useful,
    also preferably get all-SSD build, I doubt there are any affordable SAS SSD on the market, so such servers are a big no for VEP build imo
    :chilling:

• Like Like x 1
    • Agree Agree x 1
    • List
  4. Pure Energy

Pure Energy Producer

dont do it the noise is horrendoes go for what i did Dell 5310 Percision workstation 128gb ram quite cant hear it

I bought mine for 600 canadian

step up get 5820 or 40 used pack it with hard drives Raid 50 you can use 8tb drives very staable and they are raackmountable and fit as is on the side in a rack with out the hardware on a shelf

5. Pure Energy

Pure Energy Producer

if noise it not a factor then had a card and MD1200 storage server 500 doolars 15 hard drives 6gb tansfer holds 8tb drives

6. Pure Energy

Pure Energy Producer