Nebula help please?

Discussion in 'Software' started by northwinds, Jun 15, 2021.

Tags:
  1. northwinds

    northwinds Ultrasonic

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2014
    Messages:
    122
    Likes Received:
    26
    Hi all
    I recently bought Nebula 4 in the sale and have rrealised that I really need nebula 3 to fix problems I'm having with third party libraries and skins.
    I tried installing the 32lives enabled version of nebula 3 and although I can get it validated in Logic X, I can't get it to show in my plugins?
    I am on OSX Mojave at the moment.
    Any suggestions please?

     
  2.  
  3. BaSsDuDe

    BaSsDuDe Audiosexual

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2021
    Messages:
    1,221
    Likes Received:
    920
    You can try and use Bluecat's patchwork for testing and manually load it in to see if it works in Logic. It won't be as fussy with 32 and 64bit plugins.
    At the least you should be able to tell if it is Mojave, Logic or the plugin. It certainly does not fix the problem but it may help you isolate the source. Patchwork apparently has no issues with most MAC O/S's and some people have said patchwork loads even the most temperamental plugins. It's not a fix but it might be a workaround.
     
  4. northwinds

    northwinds Ultrasonic

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2014
    Messages:
    122
    Likes Received:
    26
    Great idea, thanks!
    But unfortunately when I try to load either the AU or VST through patchwork i get a loading error saying to check that this is a compatible 64 bit Audio Unit/vst plugin.
    Interestingly I have both a nebula3.component and a nebula3 x64.component (the second I'm guessing was created by 32lives?) but I get the same message when I try to load either.
     
  5. mk_96

    mk_96 Platinum Record

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2020
    Messages:
    304
    Likes Received:
    201
    check the "purchased" tab on aquarius, there should be a nebula 3 add-on that comes with N4. It says it solves compatibility issues between nebula 3 and n4, but i don't know exactly how. Look it up, it might be what you're looking for
     
  6. northwinds

    northwinds Ultrasonic

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2014
    Messages:
    122
    Likes Received:
    26
    I did wonder about that - thanks, I'll give it a try!
     
  7. northwinds

    northwinds Ultrasonic

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2014
    Messages:
    122
    Likes Received:
    26
    Well installing that allowed me to load N3 from the plugin menu, but it looks like this and I can't figure how to load anything? N3.jpg
     
  8. 6ixcore

    6ixcore Kapellmeister

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2016
    Messages:
    129
    Likes Received:
    63
    Have you tried clicking "Init"? N3 dropdown is displayed when clicking there. What do you need N3 for if you have N4? you can do the same stuff on both. If nothing shows maybe better check if everything is installed on correct folders first https://acusticaudio.freshdesk.com/...icles/35000155485-getting-started-with-nebula
     
  9. mk_96

    mk_96 Platinum Record

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2020
    Messages:
    304
    Likes Received:
    201
    the layout looks pretty much the same as what i can remember from nebula3 (the default skin in the add-on does look like that, so don't worry). You click the "init" thing and a list with libraries should appear. For the skins you press the "MAST" button below, change the mode to "guru" and the option to change skins should become visible in the same menu but keep in mind that in nebula 3 the change in skin is global and doesn't change with the library you select. There's a way around that in N4, but it doesn't work with nebula 3 skins as far as i know.

    If you can't see the libraries or the skins, maybe you have them in the wrong folder? The real Nebula 3 has a folder called "nebulatemprepository", while N4 has one called "nebula4temprepository". To load the stuff in the nebula3 add-on they need to be in the later one.
     
    Last edited: Jun 15, 2021
  10. northwinds

    northwinds Ultrasonic

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2014
    Messages:
    122
    Likes Received:
    26
    Thank you both for your replies!
    Indeed the init button does load the programs, however I can't seem to change the skinns at all?
    under MAST I have Mode: 1 Guru but no matter which program I load I have *Skin: N3_Generic.N2S
    I can't see a way to change that?
    Thanks again!
     
  11. mk_96

    mk_96 Platinum Record

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2020
    Messages:
    304
    Likes Received:
    201
    Best Answer
    You need to select that N3_Generic.n2s and use the faders to right to navigate through all the available skins. Select the one you're looking for, NOT any other from the list, some of them are from N4 and if you select them and move on you're gonna have a bad time. Then, click the SAVE button on the top part of the menu, delete the plugin from your session and insert it again.
     
  12. northwinds

    northwinds Ultrasonic

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2014
    Messages:
    122
    Likes Received:
    26
    Fantastic! That worked great! Many thanks!
    How do I change the skin again afterwards though?
    Thanks!
     
  13. No Avenger

    No Avenger Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2017
    Messages:
    6,934
    Likes Received:
    4,847
    Location:
    Europe
    So, you've got your Best Answer? :winker:
     
  14. northwinds

    northwinds Ultrasonic

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2014
    Messages:
    122
    Likes Received:
    26
    I actually worked out that I had loaded an N4 skin so was stuck until I reloaded the N3 plugin via Aquarius.

    I have a bunch more questions re N3 and N4 skins but as I was prompted to choose a "Best Answer" maybe I should start another post?
     
    Last edited: Jun 17, 2021
  15. mk_96

    mk_96 Platinum Record

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2020
    Messages:
    304
    Likes Received:
    201
  16. anonymouse

    anonymouse Producer

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2017
    Messages:
    166
    Likes Received:
    82
    Why would you need N3? Everything works fine on N4 in Reaper Win10 x64
     
Loading...
Similar Threads - Nebula help please Forum Date
Help with nebula please Software Oct 23, 2021
Help installing Nebula N4 player Software Nov 21, 2021
Nebula 4 help Software Aug 4, 2021
Help with Nebula setups/ddl`s Presets, Patches Apr 10, 2021
Nebula help Software Jul 25, 2018
Loading...