Nebula 3

Discussion in 'Samplers' started by digrev, Feb 7, 2014.

  1. Evorax

    Evorax Platinum Record

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2013
    Messages:
    1,716
    Likes Received:
    253
    Location:
    Bowerstone Castle
    Does the artifacts happens along with the cpu spikes? Or just crackles with optimal cpu activity while you playback in your StudioOne's project? If the crackles happens when the cpu meter works optimally, this means there's a driver-related problem of your soundcard. I had such a problem with a secondary soundcard "Scarlett 2i2" which had no crackles while i was listening to music on player software/youtube etc., but had alot of random crackles while playbacking in my Studio One DAW sounding similar to the crackles you'd get by CPU spikes, so when i sent it back to the store, they replaced it for me and when i checked the new one the problem was gone, but mainly i use a Focusrite Forte though. But i'm not sure why you get that crackles untill you gave us more details/aspects of your problem. :thumbsup:
     
  2. onhappin

    onhappin Noisemaker

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2014
    Messages:
    44
    Likes Received:
    5
    Thanks for the reply! The problem is related only with Nebula 3 Pro. Otherwise both Live and Studio One are cool with shitloads of vsts on 30+ channels with perfect sound. My interface is a EMU 0404USB with the beta win7 drivers. I know this alone could cause the problems but with a 10ms buffer, I can run both daws easily at 88.2 khz - though normally I work in 48khz.

    The sound I get from Nebula is the one fucked up, especially the H.Olonga and STN libraries which I love. The cpu doesn't die on me either, it stays at 30-35% in Studio One even if I'm in 10 timed kernels, with 5ms or more each. I tried playing with the attack release settings, timed vs freqd and the ms of clean, odd and even kernels with little success. What seems to clean a bit the output is the liquidity function, but as you know, this is not exactly an option if trying to replicate the real thing.
    It's really frustrating as I worked some time ago on a less powerful system with Nebula and the sound was flawless so I know what it can do. Before I ditch the interface, I want to rule out the possibility of a wrong setting somewhere - either in Nebula or the asio stuff - that's why I asked for safe and working xmls and/or any (asio) tips you might have.
     
  3. Evorax

    Evorax Platinum Record

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2013
    Messages:
    1,716
    Likes Received:
    253
    Location:
    Bowerstone Castle
    Well, my XML file have modified only the LTIMED to 100000. I have Win7 64bit with Nebula Server x64 v1.3 505 , Studio One Pro 2.6 so i don't understand why your Nebula3 doesn't working. My Nebula Reverb in the Master Page i set only the buffersize to 2048 samples.
    About Timed Kernels mode, don't mess with the Odd value and if the program is a tape/preamp sample then don't mess with the attack and release either, even the developer warns you about it. But even if you instance is crackling with default settings, then i really don't understand why it makes you problems on such a powerful CPU, because it's not normal.
     
  4. xHitoKiri

    xHitoKiri Member

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2013
    Messages:
    246
    Likes Received:
    8
    All the recent spam of nebula expansions and presets made me wanna try it out.

    You never know the light until you follow it.

    What would be the "YOU NEED" Expansions or the most appealing.

    :dunno:
     
  5. Evorax

    Evorax Platinum Record

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2013
    Messages:
    1,716
    Likes Received:
    253
    Location:
    Bowerstone Castle
    For Mixing:
    AlexB Modern Logic Console (SSL 9000K)
    Germanos EQs (Neumann W492, Telefunken W695, TAB W95c, Siemens W295b)
    AlexB Vintage 73EQ or AITB Fate EQ (Neve 1073).
    AlexB MPEQ (Moog MKPE, nice for basses)
    MWeq (Neve Portico RND 5033)
    STN DME 1968 FET/Tube (Drawmer 1968 compressor)
    ModernWhiteDynamics (Neve Portico RND 5043)

    For Mastering/Buses:
    STN Nag Tape (Nagra T-Audio)
    AITB Mammoth EQ (Manley Massive Passive)
    AlexB 4KD Dynamics (SSL 4000E Gcomp)
    AlexB BlackMaster EQ (API 5500)
     
  6. xHitoKiri

    xHitoKiri Member

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2013
    Messages:
    246
    Likes Received:
    8

    Thanks! I will try those for now. :wink:
     
  7. onhappin

    onhappin Noisemaker

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2014
    Messages:
    44
    Likes Received:
    5
    Ok, so I reinstalled all drivers and Nebula. With your settings except the buffer which I keep lower I can now run Nebula the reverb version fine. It still slightly distorts in the default nonreverb version, and with some STN and Olonga libraries in both. But at least I'm happy I can use AlexB stuff. Quite strange but thanks, Evorax!
     
  8. michaelh81

    michaelh81 Newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2014
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    If you buy the latest version of Nebula, do the libraries from Audioz work with it?
     
  9. Evorax

    Evorax Platinum Record

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2013
    Messages:
    1,716
    Likes Received:
    253
    Location:
    Bowerstone Castle
    Yes, because the important thing is to have the commercial pro version of Nebula. :wink:
     
  10. audiopro

    audiopro Member

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2014
    Messages:
    36
    Likes Received:
    7
    Thank you for the GREAT explanation , also nebula 4 2015 with 64 bit OSX AU support. also nebula 4 comes to new GUI design ( aqua style )
     
Loading...
Similar Threads - Nebula Forum Date
Nebula Vintage Equalizer Shootout on Vocals (API, Neve, Pultec, RND, SSL) Working with Sound Jan 26, 2017
Nebula 4 Free - Ready to give it a go, any pointers? Software Jan 16, 2017
Nebula pro 3 server Mixing and Mastering Dec 27, 2016
Acustica Audio Presents....Nebula 4 Software News Dec 14, 2016
Acustica, Nebula and Acqua advice Software Dec 5, 2016
Loading...