Nebula 3 tips/tricks???

Discussion in 'Software Reviews and Tutorials' started by Dirty Hairy II, Oct 28, 2016.

  1. WillTheWeirdo

    WillTheWeirdo Rock Star

    Joined:
    May 18, 2014
    Messages:
    274
    Likes Received:
    338
    Location:
    On the Lake
    AA know the 1176 is lusted after by many of us..... let's just see what 2017 brings.
     
    • Like Like x 3
    • Interesting Interesting x 1
    • List
  2. Jaymz

    Jaymz Audiosexual

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2016
    Messages:
    584
    Likes Received:
    654
    Location:
    In a mix
    maybe we can chat some time about it... i been gearing up to do a bunch of TUTS on Nebula Gear cause years ago wen i started using it to put some of my Hardware to rest you couldnt find much info on it at all an i learned most of what i know hands on/ trial an error to speak ;) But yea their still not enough info on the net for Nebula so we shall see... I'm awaiting the Release of Nebula 4 myself cause it will really be a game changer in the Nebula Realm :wink:
     
    Last edited: Nov 1, 2016
    • Agree Agree x 2
    • Like Like x 1
    • List
  3. Jaymz

    Jaymz Audiosexual

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2016
    Messages:
    584
    Likes Received:
    654
    Location:
    In a mix
    I... like you have bought alot of presets from olonga too that ended up in the free bundle but i got the high res files with my purchase that not available in the free Olonga download, but still yet even @ 44100 the Henry Olonga Bundle is an indispensable tool for free :wink: my favorite Pre's an love the girthy presets too:winker:
     
    • Like Like x 2
    • Agree Agree x 1
    • List
  4. WillTheWeirdo

    WillTheWeirdo Rock Star

    Joined:
    May 18, 2014
    Messages:
    274
    Likes Received:
    338
    Location:
    On the Lake
    Yeah those HO preamps are the best in pro audio IMHO, I've been using his large mic collection with my Slate VMS with fantastic results too, and the library is FREE! I paid for it also and I believed it was a pro audio best buy then, for free it's insane. I've actually suggested to several people purchasing N3 just for the free AYCE library. All were more than satisfied after doing so.
     
    • Agree Agree x 2
    • Like Like x 1
    • List
  5. Jaymz

    Jaymz Audiosexual

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2016
    Messages:
    584
    Likes Received:
    654
    Location:
    In a mix
    Man i would Def like to Try that Slate VMS ive herd nothin but Rave bout that mic setup! That may just be what i buy myself for christmas this year along with a bottle of some good whisky :wink:
     
  6. WillTheWeirdo

    WillTheWeirdo Rock Star

    Joined:
    May 18, 2014
    Messages:
    274
    Likes Received:
    338
    Location:
    On the Lake
    The main reason I grabbed a VMS was Nebula. As a huge hardware lover, Nebula taught me what was possible with digital audio, knowing what is possible with digital audio gave me the confidence to test the VMS, and I'm glad I did as I love it. It took a few weeks to get over not tracking with compression but the results spoke for themselves. Using Sum 100a and Vari-Level on vocals using HO's mics, Slate mics and HO's preamps delivers pro results. I plan to purchase a second VMS sometime next year.
     
  7. Dirty Hairy II

    Dirty Hairy II Member

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2016
    Messages:
    28
    Likes Received:
    19
    Location:
    USA
    Thanks again for the info guys, there really isn't much info on how to get the most out of Nebula, or I couldn't find it anyway...It'll take quite a while just to get through HO's AYCA pack I got, & it's hard to believe he's giving it away now...

    While I learn a bit every time I open the daw, I'm still miles behind you guys, but I'm trying to learn & catch up the best I can...

    Thanks again!!!
     
  8. digitaldragon

    digitaldragon Audiosexual

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2016
    Messages:
    883
    Likes Received:
    664
    Reinforcing the "Nebula can't do compression correct", I had an All Buttons preset, but when I compared to a modeling plug, I had to go with the modeling plugin. My understanding of what's happening under the hood of an 1176 with the All Buttons trick (which granted is limited) and the rate of attack varying with the program material, I just didn't think that could be properly sampled. The Nebula preset just didn't move with the music like the modeled plugin did.

    This was my experience at any rate. I may be completely wrong about why one sounded so different than the other. I let my ears pick, and they chose the modeled plug with a MOJO preset after it for some color.

    If AA doesn't beat me to it, I'm thinking of investing in the Warm Audio version of the 1176. Or maybe a DIY kit. Shouldn't be to hard for a guy with SMT experience.
     
  9. digitaldragon

    digitaldragon Audiosexual

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2016
    Messages:
    883
    Likes Received:
    664
    All I'm working in at the moment is 44.1 so that was what I purchased. Then it was offered for free 6 months later. I don't care, it was still a steal of a deal when I got it.
    When I start moving to higher sample rates, I'll probably have to buy it again to get them. My MOTU will do 192Khz.

    I'm interested, @Jaymz, in a good starting point for tweaking some of the Olonga presets. This would be in tracks I'm freezing, but I'd prefer to start with small adjustments, and not 5 hour renders, haha. Any suggestions?
     
    • Like Like x 1
    • Agree Agree x 1
    • List
  10. Dirty Hairy II

    Dirty Hairy II Member

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2016
    Messages:
    28
    Likes Received:
    19
    Location:
    USA
    Wow, my interface (Native Instruments Komplete Audio 6) will do 192 also, so I gave it a go with just a couple of tracks....thought my computer was gonna melt....hahaha

    I dunno if I'll work in 192khz or not, after I got it to stop twitching & having spasms, I put it back to 44....I was afraid to try anything else.....:rofl:
     
  11. Satai

    Satai Producer

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2013
    Messages:
    142
    Likes Received:
    83
    Might be overkill for most things, but when your track's almost done and you have the stereo mixdown just working on some slight overall EQ and pushing it onto a limiter, those higher sample rates are worth trying out. Limiters (algo ones, I don't mean current Nebula ones, they are a weird bunch) love working in high sample rates.
     
  12. digitaldragon

    digitaldragon Audiosexual

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2016
    Messages:
    883
    Likes Received:
    664
    I've been working in 44.1 since I started. Was thinking about working in higher sample rates when I get it to that stage.
     
  13. Jaymz

    Jaymz Audiosexual

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2016
    Messages:
    584
    Likes Received:
    654
    Location:
    In a mix
    Try the comps in the Acustica Acqua plugs demos SAND an CORAL ... best comps ITB ive used yet its really impressive if you ever used hardware :winker:
     
  14. digitaldragon

    digitaldragon Audiosexual

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2016
    Messages:
    883
    Likes Received:
    664
    I've tried Tan. I really like it's sound. Been wanting to check out Coral. Just haven't been too eager to struggle with AA's licensing process. The production PC hadn't hit the Internet since it's been set up.
     
  15. WillTheWeirdo

    WillTheWeirdo Rock Star

    Joined:
    May 18, 2014
    Messages:
    274
    Likes Received:
    338
    Location:
    On the Lake
    Yeah, the Coral comp is special for the stereo buss, 2-6 db max compression and it's magical. We've never had this type or quality of buss compressor in the box.

    Use Sand on the drum buss/stereo 2 buss 2-5 db reduction max, a little goes a long way. Try:
    4:1 Ratio
    Slowest attack
    Fastest release
    Just barely get the needle moving
    Adjust your makeup gain

    It's the magic SSL hardware buss comp recipe. Using this recipe you are just gluing the mix with Sand.... follow with Coral for more compression..... your mix never sounded this good. Yummy!

    For those that are less experienced..... do NOT attempt to over compress with a buss comp! Software guys love to complain that buss comps do not compress enough, but buss comps were designed to glue a mix together not compress heavily. Buss comps take patience and knowing the compressor is vital, so practice with patience..... always remembering that a little goes a long way, and make sure NOT to crush the transients using several chained.
     
    Last edited: Nov 3, 2016
  16. WillTheWeirdo

    WillTheWeirdo Rock Star

    Joined:
    May 18, 2014
    Messages:
    274
    Likes Received:
    338
    Location:
    On the Lake
    FWIW, Tim P will be releasing his Vari Level Nebula library soon. It's the first Retro Sta Level library in any form in the digital world. Use it anywhere you would an LA2A. I've been using it on uncompressed VMS recordings with great results.

    http://www.timpetherick.co.uk/
     
    • Interesting Interesting x 1
    • List
  17. digitaldragon

    digitaldragon Audiosexual

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2016
    Messages:
    883
    Likes Received:
    664
    Yes, I had read about the STA in several compression tutorials and was interested in getting it. Supposed to be excellent for vocals especially female. I've been anxiously awaiting completion of that library.
     
  18. WillTheWeirdo

    WillTheWeirdo Rock Star

    Joined:
    May 18, 2014
    Messages:
    274
    Likes Received:
    338
    Location:
    On the Lake
    It does not disappoint, I love the hardware and my results with Tim's library bring a big smile to my face.
     
    • Interesting Interesting x 1
    • List
  19. WillTheWeirdo

    WillTheWeirdo Rock Star

    Joined:
    May 18, 2014
    Messages:
    274
    Likes Received:
    338
    Location:
    On the Lake
    Since this is a Nebula tip/trick thread, here's a tip on how to load an Acqua into Nebula 3.

    1. Put the sand_cmp vectors into nebulatemprepository\Vectors
    2. Put a copy of sand.n2s in nebulatemprepository\Acquas (make a folder with that name if there is none)
    3. Put a copy of sand.aut in the folder where your nebula.dll sits

    You find the files in nebula under the Acqua (AQU) category.
    Comps are in RAW. Sometimes it's a little chaotic in there with lots of dummy files (in pre category for example)

    You can do this with any Acqua, not just Sand.
     
    Last edited: Nov 11, 2016
  20. dastony2

    dastony2 Newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2015
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    1
    very interesting, as I've always understood Acqua Core engines to be more sophisticated than the Nebula programs. What is the benefit of using Acqua plugs inside of Nebula 3?
     
Loading...
Similar Threads - Nebula tips tricks Forum Date
Need some Nebula tips Software Mar 20, 2016
ANALOGINTHEBOX EAR ROOM REVERB for NEBULA Software Reviews and Tutorials Apr 16, 2017
AnalogInTheBox FATE COMPRESSOR Nebula by Acustica Audio Software Reviews and Tutorials Apr 15, 2017
Pop song mixed with Nebula and Aqua plugins. overused vintage terms Our Music Apr 6, 2017
How do you use Nebula? Software Mar 24, 2017
Loading...