My Focusrite Pro 40 LEDs

Discussion in 'Computer Hardware' started by Gino09, Aug 25, 2021.

  1. Gino09

    Gino09 Newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2019
    Messages:
    140
    Likes Received:
    1
    Are flickering every time I switch it on then my new AMD PC reboots automatically?
    Just built the PC and I never tried the audio interface before. My mother board is ROG STRIX B550-F Gaming.
    Ryzen 7, do you recommend a pciex16 Fire-wire card as I am sure it's the problem?
     
  2.  
  3. clone

    clone Platinum Record

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2021
    Messages:
    627
    Likes Received:
    236
    say you trust your pc assembly skills. the interface is new and should be fine.
    why do you skip your electrical supply? if it was just one or the other with a problem, then maybe.
    even if the computer is losing power for .x seconds it will make your interface drop connection, at least. if it is usb bus powered only, it will either flicker or turn off completely.
     
  4. quadcore64

    quadcore64 Audiosexual

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2011
    Messages:
    1,283
    Likes Received:
    632
    SIIG FireWire 800 3-Port PCIe 1394b FireWire 800 Adapter PCIe Card

    Is your current firewire card rated for video transfer or audio?
    Is the firewire card in a slot that is shared by an occupied NVMe slot or SATA port?
    Do the lights flicker with the firewire cable disconnected at either end (try both)?
    Does the motherboard BIOS have 1394a support that has to be turned on?

    BTW...Firewire only requires a PCIe x1 slot
     
    Last edited: Aug 25, 2021
  5. Gino09

    Gino09 Newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2019
    Messages:
    140
    Likes Received:
    1
     

    Attached Files:

  6. Gino09

    Gino09 Newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2019
    Messages:
    140
    Likes Received:
    1
    Thank you for replying. My PC went to a PC repair shop for inspection after I built it,,all were fine.
    I provided a photo of my card in this thread. power supply is not an issue.
     
  7. Talula

    Talula Platinum Record

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2018
    Messages:
    770
    Likes Received:
    213
    you asked about firewire...
    and then showing this?...
    [​IMG]

    :wtf:
     
  8. ptpatty

    ptpatty Producer

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2011
    Messages:
    289
    Likes Received:
    137
    Location:
    USA (East Coast)
    Not sure why your computer would reboot but the VIA chipset firewire cards were notorius for conflicts with Focusrite stuff plus I thought I read that there were also issues with Focusrite drivers running on any version of Windows 10 after build 1909.
     
  9. Gino09

    Gino09 Newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2019
    Messages:
    140
    Likes Received:
    1
    Well,that is my firewire card.
     
  10. Gino09

    Gino09 Newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2019
    Messages:
    140
    Likes Received:
    1
    I have a Dell PC also which is connected with same Focustrite Pro 40,,never a problem with it.
    Before I built this new PC,,I had also a game PC which was connected to the same Pro 40,,never a problem. You know what, I just realized something,,this card I took from the old Game PC I just mentioned which was working perfectly with Pro 40, and slammed inside the newly built PC,,and now problem!
     
  11. Talula

    Talula Platinum Record

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2018
    Messages:
    770
    Likes Received:
    213
    really? O_o ports looks like standart usb, not like firewire...

    maybe you need to setup bios setting for firewire ports.

    can you check your firewire card with any other computer? if the problem with this card you will get the same problem.
     
  12. quadcore64

    quadcore64 Audiosexual

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2011
    Messages:
    1,283
    Likes Received:
    632
    Also check that the driver installed and, is active in the Windows Device Manager.

    should show up as a IEEE 1394b device
     
  13. Amore_de_la_Vida

    Amore_de_la_Vida Producer

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2021
    Messages:
    120
    Likes Received:
    91
    The card that you show have a VIA chipset.

    For audio production, it is recommended to choose PCIe Firewire cards with a Texas Instruments (TI) chipset. Far better, more stable and reliable.

    I had a Firewire interface too in the past, a Focusrite Liquid Saffire 56, and have no more problems anymore once I switched to TI chipset.
     
    • Like Like x 1
    • Agree Agree x 1
    • List
  14. Gino09

    Gino09 Newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2019
    Messages:
    140
    Likes Received:
    1
    Nop,,this card came from another PC which was working fine with the Focurite Pro 40,,so we are isolating the problem. Hang on,,I will try to get a screen shot of my Bios of the new PC. Thanks.
     
    • Interesting Interesting x 1
    • List
  15. Gino09

    Gino09 Newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2019
    Messages:
    140
    Likes Received:
    1
    Do you have a card in mind? Somebody here posted a card name,,but I am trying to get more options. The thing that is interesting is that this card I pulled from a PC,,never have problem with the card while in it,,now I put it in the new PC and it is giving me problem.
     
  16. KidPix

    KidPix Producer

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2017
    Messages:
    145
    Likes Received:
    105
  17. Amore_de_la_Vida

    Amore_de_la_Vida Producer

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2021
    Messages:
    120
    Likes Received:
    91
    This one seems perfect considering the fact that you don't need Firewire 800 port, only Firewire 400 for your Focusrite, Around 32$ I think (I'm not in the US, so I don't know your real, final price, including VAT and expedition).

    You can find this card in several stores, because it is a well-known brand, so you could do a web search with the model name, or the brand: "StarTech.com FireWire Card" or "StarTech.com PEX1394A2V2" to see if ever you can find it cheaper elsewhere?

    Don't forget to download the drivers at the vendor's site, it's very important. In the options of the windows driver you must see an parameter like "Authorize the computer to switch off this peripheral to save energy", this parameter must be deactivated, to be absolutely sure to not have stupid sound interruptions.

    It is a windows-specific setting, you can access it after you have installed the driver:

    Right click on "This PC" (or "My Computer" if you have WIn7) ==> Properties ==> click on the link to the right "Peripherals", then go to "IEE1394 interfaces" ==> then right-click on your card' driver > properties > click on the fourth tab, then unselect the little case "Authorize computer to switch off this peripheral to save energy", and VoilĂ ! No more problems!
     
    Last edited: Aug 25, 2021
  18. Gino09

    Gino09 Newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2019
    Messages:
    140
    Likes Received:
    1
  19. Gino09

    Gino09 Newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2019
    Messages:
    140
    Likes Received:
    1
    Great,,just saw on Amazon,,,no worries about taxes,,,I am in the USA,,everything is cheap :) almost.
     
  20. Gino09

    Gino09 Newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2019
    Messages:
    140
    Likes Received:
    1
    Here 2 screen shots for all of you,,do you see anything not right?
     
    Last edited: Aug 25, 2021

    Attached Files:

  21. Amore_de_la_Vida

    Amore_de_la_Vida Producer

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2021
    Messages:
    120
    Likes Received:
    91
    I see that you have let your audio chipset activated... IMAHO you should deactivate it.

    It's better to have only one audio interface activated. Less ressources wasted for nothing.
     
Loading...
Similar Threads - Focusrite LEDs Forum Date
Yum Audio - Lofi Pitch Dropout free for Novation/Focusrite customers Software News Sep 1, 2021
Warning: Focusrite Fast by VR Software Aug 19, 2021
Focusrite Fast Software Jul 4, 2021
Focusrite FAST Compressor / Eq ... Lounge Jul 3, 2021
Focusrite Acquires Sequential Industry News Apr 27, 2021
Loading...