My first attempt at an album

Discussion in 'Work in Process' started by MarkyMW, Feb 13, 2021.

1. MarkyMW

MarkyMW Platinum Record

Hello everyone, I've been reading the forums here for a while and between the discussions here and the sister site I was inspired to attempt an album that has some kind of continuity.

I'm still learning how to mix, but I think I'm heading in the right direction, so please take a listen and let me know how to improve on the mixing. I hope you enjoy the music.

edit heres the finished version of Echos from the harbour...

edit - thanks to Arabian_jesus the first track has been updated and this is the new wider version... (just to avoid confusion I've deleted the older one from Soundcloud)

the whole albumis here...

soundcloud.com/user-334191475/sets/lockdown2

:thanks:

Last edited: Feb 16, 2021
  3. Arabian_jesus

Arabian_jesus Audiosexual

Good job for just starting out mixing! Always nice to see someone trying their best and putting it out there to ask for constructive criticism :like:

In the track you linked to, reflections, the instruments seem to be only panned dead center which makes the track very narrow while in all of the other tracks you seem to have used the stereo field to it's fullest. The tone of the guitars sound good and I really like the almost Pink Floyd type guitar playing in Echoes From the Harbour! The volume of the drums on the other hand is a bit low and they could use some more punch. I don't know what software you've used for the drums but you could try adding a bit of parallel compression and maybe a tape sim on the drum buss!

4. MarkyMW

MarkyMW Platinum Record