My Excessive Guitar Noise Problem Is Not Solved But..

Discussion in 'Guitars' started by RamboCalrissian, Aug 28, 2024 at 4:01 PM.

Tags:
  1. RamboCalrissian

RamboCalrissian Noisemaker

I marked my previous post as 'solved' last time because if I get up out of my chair, walk 3-5 feet away, turn around and not face my computer, then the noise will go away. While it does somewhat disappear.. its still there. Also.. having to do all of that just to record my guitar playing is a big pain in the rump.

So.. here we go audiosex nerds... I could really use your knowledge and insight here!!

I've been trying to narrow down the excessive noise when I record my guitar and what is causing it. After trying out a few different guitars and instruments...I am left to only a few variables as to what is causing this SSSSzzzzssBBRRRRSsszZZZZSst sound whenever I am trying to record my guitar.

I am an aspiring metal guitarist, so I'm going to use overdrive and distortion effects. Whenever I switch these effects on however, I get Brrrsszzzt sound that ruins recording. Without the effects on, my guitar records clean and acoustic just fine.

Any string instrument such as bass guitar or electric guitar will produce this BBBRssszzt sound, whenever I plug it in to my Scarlett 2i2 and add effects or sometimes even just turning the volume up loudly. However my Alesis Command X drum kit that I plug into the Scarlett, does not produce any background sound.. so I may be able to rule out that my AI is the culprit.

My Scarlett, however, does plug into my computer instead of plugging into the wall... so I think my computer is the reason why I am getting this noise. I am wholly ignorant on electricity and its physics, so I definitely need some outside help, which is why I'm here!

Is there anything I can do or try to mitigate, reduce or otherwise remove this damn noise?

Thank you for any assistance or insight you can provide on this issue!

Last edited: Aug 28, 2024 at 4:09 PM