Music theory on piano roll question.. For Ableton and FL Studio

Discussion in 'Mixing and Mastering' started by Desantïs, Feb 12, 2016.

1. Desantïs

Desantïs Banned

I don't want to catch any flames here so I'll simply ask my question. I am a beginner to the world of music and was wondering if there was a way to be able to select my key and scale in the piano roll so that the other keys are greyd or blacked out.. This way I can just experiment with my ear. I AM trying to learn basic theory but I feel that this would be a great help to me as a producer to just give me a guideline so I don't have to refer back to my notes all the time. I think Pitcher in fruity loop accomplishes this but I'm not sure and I now use ableton live so I guess the question would be more in ableton. I am sure it does this because my push 2 has all of it laid out but in a weird freaking rubix cube way, not like the piano roll.

3. thantrax

thantrax Audiosexual

Did you mean this (FL Studio 12) ?

[​IMG]

FL Sudio 12 Online Help - search for "Piano Roll"
    ■ Ableton Live 9 Online Manual

Last edited: Feb 12, 2016
    • Like Like x 1
    • Agree Agree x 1
    • List
  4. Dee.P.Tree

Dee.P.Tree Producer

I am not sure about Ableton Live because I have not used it.

But in FLS, you can go to piano roll menu and look for helpers.

And you'll find options as shown in this snapshot.

[​IMG]

You can create a blank channel (without any sound source) and insert your scales midi or create your own.

If you have made "ghost channels" on, you can always use this as reference while creating chords or melody in another channels in same pattern.

You can also enable, scale helper.

Let me know if any further help can be required regarding FLS.

Remember... These are just "Helpers". I think you already know importance of knowing keys and scales while working on piano roll. So, do not stop working on your musical skill.

Best of luck.

• Like Like x 1
    • Agree Agree x 1
    • List
  5. fraifikmushi