Music production for a person with vision impairment

Discussion in 'Lounge' started by nmkeraj, Feb 5, 2023.

1. nmkeraj

nmkeraj Producer

I was asked for help by my friend: “How to make music?”. So I am asking you for best tips, workarounds or whatever how to build a bedroom studio for such a person?
    As a computer musician my first thought was about DAW and a master keyboard. But then I changed that it can/should be completely different approach in this case.
    The person can sing and even play the piano :wink:.
    THANK YOU IN ADVANCE :mates:

• Creative Creative x 2
    • Like Like x 1
    • List
  3. Lois Lane

Lois Lane Audiosexual

Please define visually impaired. Are they legally blind? I guess that it would matter if they had some sight or if they needed a completely tactile environment.

4. clone

clone Audiosexual

Modular? Or what about a looper...

5. BEAT16

BEAT16 Audiosexual

• Like Like x 3
    • Useful Useful x 1
    • List
  6. tzzsmk

tzzsmk Audiosexual

no need for great eyesight when making music,
    years back we did some basic editing for blind folks, with use of some MIDI pedals you can map basic DAW functions,
    live looping can be automated as well,
    also both MacOS and Windows have solutions for visual impairment
    :cool:

• Like Like x 2
    • Useful Useful x 1
    • List
  7. BEAT16

BEAT16 Audiosexual

8. xorome

xorome Audiosexual

I've heard visually impaired people say Windows is the best operating system for them and that Surge XT is the easiest synth to work with. The "Surge Synth Team" Discord has an active accessibility channel where you can ask musicians with impairments with first hand experience for tips.

• Like Like x 2
    • Interesting Interesting x 1
    • List
  9. Xenon

Xenon Producer

Using KOMPLETE KONTROL Accessibility Features | Native Instruments