Music PR suggestions

Discussion in 'Internet for Musician' started by lukeallison, Mar 18, 2017.

1. lukeallison

lukeallison Kapellmeister

I'm currently applying for an Arts Grant through my local council to fund an EP recording and I've noticed that they are placing importance on gaining something in return. I want to convince them that I, an unknown musician, can gain a fan base rapidly and sell my finished product. Any promotional materials generated from the council funding is required to have their logo on it so more sales means more exposure for the council.

A little about me. My background is rock. I sing, play guitar and program everything else from bass, drums, orchestral instruments to sound designing in soft synths. I've recorded an EP before, which I consider to be of a high standard: Dawn awaits EP. However, this project fell apart before the band (two people) began any form of marketing and performing and as a result we generated hardly any fans. My current project will go under the same name even though I'll be a soloist but the music will be much more cinematic and electronic, like 30 Seconds To Mars or Bring Me The Horizon.

Back to the point of the thread: Do you guys have any marketing ideas that I could document in my grant application in order to give the council hope that my project will generate an audience and an income?

I have one idea: to live stream an hour from each day of the recording process (20 days in total) on YouTube, Facebook etc. using something like Wirecast. I believe this could be a good way to allow the council to keep track of the progress of the project as well give me somewhere to place their logo.

What I'm unsure about is how do I get people to watch these streams in the first place? I need to direct traffic to my social media pages or website prior to my first stream.

:dunno:

3. spacetime

spacetime Platinum Record

Ever got payed for playing live?