Multitrack recording and mixing rig

Discussion in 'Working with Sound' started by GeekedGlitch, Sep 17, 2023.

1. GeekedGlitch

GeekedGlitch Ultrasonic

So, as the title says I want to talk and ask some questions about topic, which is multitrack recording and mixing. I want to point out right away that I'm not a professional engineer, I don't have a legit education, I just tend to dream about working in this field because it seem to be the most interesting to me.

If we think about big symphonic orchestras + choir, we know that it could reach a crazy amount of microphones, up to 40. But it really can be simplified to a couple of different stereo pairs (including the main one, which will act as a reference) and spot mics for sections and soloists. And what I want to make the main theme of this question is ITB vs OTB in terms of efficiency. By OTB I mean getting a real mixing desk, which when reaching 24+ channels is not portable. And by ITB I mean getting a separate DAW controller (with motorized faders) and separate preamps (maybe a rack consisting of 3x 8-channel blocks).

If we look at the cheap all-in-one mixers, like Tascam Model series (the only really portable from which is a Model 12, with weight of 3.5 kg), they tend to be not very well suited for working with DAW's, so we are bond either to somewhat meager set of prebuilt FX, or getting some additional hardware. We don't need much of the FX when it comes to classical music, but we're not strictly attached to only classics, right?

Some people say that having a tactile feel of faders under your hand takes your mixing process to another level, which is right, because using your mouse is a discrete type of movements, - just point and click, and it must be none as fast as classic faders in front of your face. But at the same time, benefits of the DAW (i.e. Reaper) are just unmatchable: you can automate things in it which is, again, completely different level of workflow.