Motorola DSP563xx Emulator (BETA Download Now) (Access Virus, Nord Lead, Waldorf MW...)

Discussion in 'Software' started by Ayahuasca, Jul 6, 2021.

  1. clone

    clone Audiosexual

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2021
    Messages:
    2,072
    Likes Received:
    847
    has anyone gotten this all to work using Audiogridder? (Mac)
    it looks very interesting. and promising. More work than Access has put into the Virus in the last 6 months.

    how much stuff would translate from TI patches in VirusHC for you guys? I have 100s of soundbanks and I'm sure others do too.
    You could make one big archive to go with the virii.
     
    • Useful Useful x 1
    • Creative Creative x 1
    • List
  2. dondada

    dondada Rock Star

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2015
    Messages:
    684
    Likes Received:
    326
    i just looked at the test at my old notebook again with taskmanager running
    the thing is, the cpu barely runs @30% utilization
    win10
    i7 2820qm
    84-98 mips

    is that some sort of overhead that comes with the emulation
    or a ram - cpu probblem/bottleneck (that newer chips have a better handle on?
    do audio interfaces aka asio play a part?
     
  3. Roboto

    Roboto Producer

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2013
    Messages:
    223
    Likes Received:
    87
    It uses single core processing, and it's maxing out one core, for sure.
     
    • Like Like x 1
    • Agree Agree x 1
    • List
  4. Xupito

    Xupito Audiosexual

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2012
    Messages:
    5,995
    Likes Received:
    3,250
    Location:
    Europe
    Yep, it doesn't make sense at all. But even if I confused the B and C roms it still too much for my CPU.
    That's another interesting thing. When I tested the MIPS I had always slightly above 50% CPU usage.
    My CPU is 4 cores without HT (that's why is cheap as f*cl lol) so it looks like it's using 2 cores.
    When I tested the plugin in Reaper (bad idea lol), JUCE's AudioPlugin and finally VSTHost it almost maxed one core (around 25%) which is what I expected.

    Man, this project is so badass... AsmJit... I didn't even know that was a thing...
     
  5. insaner

    insaner Ultrasonic

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2015
    Messages:
    156
    Likes Received:
    27
    Yes it's certainly is, also what is VTune? can't find any info on that.
     
  6. Ayahuasca

    Ayahuasca Rock Star

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2020
    Messages:
    209
    Likes Received:
    316
    The feature will be added in the next update :)
     
  7. Hans242

    Hans242 Producer

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2012
    Messages:
    306
    Likes Received:
    92
    Hallo Ayahuasca! Thank you for this great project!! This is really one of the most interesting things in synth emulation in the last years for me. And I'm very glad you're doing this for us!
    I'm on a Mac and I'm running your emulator and the VirusHC Editor in VSThosts like GigPerformer 4, Kushview Element and Soundigy MidiLab.
    It works, but it's always the same:
    I'm on an old Mac Pro 2013 with a 12-Core Intel Xeon E5 which normally works for everything, even the most cpu intense Acustica Audio plugins. But a single core has only 2.7 GHz and that seems to be too low for your emulator as I always get audio dropouts even with buffer settings of 2048 samples...
    So I have the following question: Will there ever be a way to support multiple cores?
    Or am I doing something wrong?
    BTW, my MIPS test results are fluctuating extremely. Here is a little excerpt:

    MIPS: 126.109161

    [email protected]: MIPS: 126.109161

    [email protected]: Deliver Audio

    [email protected]: Deliver Audio

    [email protected]: Deliver Audio

    [email protected]: Deliver Audio

    MIPS: 93.128097

    [email protected]: MIPS: 93.128097

    [email protected]: Deliver Audio

    [email protected]: Deliver Audio

    [email protected]: Deliver Audio

    MIPS: 134.508392

    [email protected]: MIPS: 134.508392

    [email protected]: Deliver Audio

    [email protected]: Deliver Audio

    [email protected]: Deliver Audio

    [email protected]: Deliver Audio

    MIPS: 91.920031

    [email protected]: MIPS: 91.920031

    [email protected]: Deliver Audio

    [email protected]: Deliver Audio

    [email protected]: Deliver Audio

    MIPS: 134.221380

    [email protected]: MIPS: 134.221380

    [email protected]: Deliver Audio

    [email protected]: Deliver Audio

    [email protected]: Deliver Audio

    [email protected]: Deliver Audio

    MIPS: 123.452318

    [email protected]: MIPS: 123.452318

    [email protected]: Deliver Audio

    [email protected]: Deliver Audio

    [email protected]: Deliver Audio

    MIPS: 134.590481

    th[email protected]: MIPS: 134.590481

    [email protected]: Deliver Audio

    [email protected]: Deliver Audio

    [email protected]: Deliver Audio

    [email protected]: Deliver Audio

    MIPS: 72.977821

    [email protected]: MIPS: 72.977821

    [email protected]: Deliver Audio

    [email protected]: Deliver Audio

    [email protected]: Deliver Audio

    MIPS: 133.735894
     
  8. Ayahuasca

    Ayahuasca Rock Star

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2020
    Messages:
    209
    Likes Received:
    316
    Hey Hans,

    No you are doing everything correct

    As the DSP only has one core, the emulation can use only one core to emulate one DSP (It will always be this way). However, multiple instances will be able to run on multiple cores of the host system

    In terms of us optimising the Emulator further, it seems we have already taken all the low hanging fruit, so optimisations from here on out might be a little more tricky

    The Virus B uses less CPU than the C, so you could try the Virus B ROM if you haven’t already :)
     
  9. Xupito

    Xupito Audiosexual

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2012
    Messages:
    5,995
    Likes Received:
    3,250
    Location:
    Europe
    It's a profiler that allows a programmer to make its program faster. Basically gives information of the slowest parts of your code when it runs so you can identify bottlenecks..
    I think it's Intel's. Very advanced stuff too.
     
    Last edited: Jul 13, 2021
    • Like Like x 1
    • Useful Useful x 1
    • List
  10. Valnar

    Valnar Platinum Record

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2020
    Messages:
    574
    Likes Received:
    234
    Yeah by keeping the iMac case and switching all other components out x)
     
  11. Hans242

    Hans242 Producer

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2012
    Messages:
    306
    Likes Received:
    92
    Okay, thanks for your answer! The test data is from the Virus B Rom actually and as you can tell unfortunately even the Virus B doesn't work without a lot of dropouts on my 2.7 GHz Mac Pro, which is sad. Seems I have to wait until I can afford a machine with faster single cores. Maybe a Windows machine... It should be no problem to get an affordable CPU with more capable single cores though. But when I already build a new machine, I want something that will have the power to last a few years and also have multiple cores for the apps that can use them. And that altogether will sadly cost around 1000 Euros at least I guess...
     
  12. Ayahuasca

    Ayahuasca Rock Star

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2020
    Messages:
    209
    Likes Received:
    316
    Belive it or not im in exactly the same position as yourself and also need to upgrade to get things working properly :rofl:
    We are also in the middle of getting the Virus A ROM working, this may run even better than the Virus B, but its too early to tell yet

    The way im looking at it is that the cost of the new computer will only cost a fraction of what all the synths we have planned put together would cost
     
    Last edited: Jul 13, 2021
    • Like Like x 8
    • Winner Winner x 1
    • Love it! Love it! x 1
    • List
  13. Obineg

    Obineg Platinum Record

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2020
    Messages:
    633
    Likes Received:
    219
    it is hard to compare different processortypes and different code, but if i had to guess i would say that a native implementation for windows or OSX of the same synth will allow you some 350 voices on an i7.

    i mean, the virus A has roughly the same features - and probably resolution and bitdepth - as the V2 of the PPG plug-in.
     
  14. rollerball

    rollerball Platinum Record

    Joined:
    May 27, 2020
    Messages:
    285
    Likes Received:
    222
    A bit late, but congratulations on getting it to the BETA stage! It must have been a lot of work and I'm glad it's finally showing results. Will be following this intently.
     
  15. emage

    emage Member

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2014
    Messages:
    25
    Likes Received:
    13
    Location:
    Italy
    Hello Hans242, can you show the routing you used to get VirusHC Editor work?
    Thanx!



     
  16. dr_after

    dr_after Kapellmeister

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2014
    Messages:
    38
    Likes Received:
    41
    It's amazing - I got it working in Reaper without problems (ust putting dll and ROM file in VST folder). And it sounds very interesting! I have never used Virus hardware before. It has some Nexus vibe but it is more raw and dirty. It also has really interesting presets. Cannot wait to use them in my tracks. Keep it up! This project is a huge deal! :)
     
    • Like Like x 2
    • Interesting Interesting x 1
    • Useful Useful x 1
    • List
  17. Hans242

    Hans242 Producer

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2012
    Messages:
    306
    Likes Received:
    92
    I can explain. It's quite simple.
    In any of the vst hosts on Mac, like Kushview Element, Soundigy Midi Lab, Deskew Gig Performer etc. it's always the same.

    1. Just insert/load an instance of DSPEmulator and connect audio output to your sound card, then insert and connect Midi Input from your keyboard. Now you can already hear and play the first preset of the first bank.

    2. Then when you want to edit or load other presets, insert/load the demo of VirusHC Editor from Mystery Islands. The only important step here that's not quite as simple as everything else is that you need (at least I needed) to open an IAC Midi Port in Midi Setup (please google how to do that) and then set the input and output Midi ports in the Virus HC Editor to IAC Midi In and OUT.

    3. Then all you have to do is insert the IAC port into the host and connect the IAC ports to your DSPEmulator module so it can receive everything from the editor. Oh and one last thing: You have to disable the Sysex filter in the Midi IAC module, otherwise the Sysex messages won't come through.

    Is that enough or do you still need pictures? :D
     
    • Like Like x 1
    • Agree Agree x 1
    • List
  18. Hans242

    Hans242 Producer

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2012
    Messages:
    306
    Likes Received:
    92
    Oh and I almost forgot one thing. You need to have the Virus B or C Rom in your vst/components folder.
    I hope you know where to find it. Just do a search for Virus Rom .bin and you'll find it.
     
  19. 6ixcore

    6ixcore Kapellmeister

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2016
    Messages:
    129
    Likes Received:
    63
    Congrats on this huge project!

    One question, how to make it work inside Logic with the AU component and VirusHC plugin? i can only get default sound and haven't managed to make it work any info on this would be very helpful, thank you.
     
  20. emage

    emage Member

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2014
    Messages:
    25
    Likes Received:
    13
    Location:
    Italy
    Thanks! Now it works like a charm!
    I forgot to enable sysex in my prior tests.


     
Loading...
Similar Threads - Motorola DSP563xx Emulator Forum Date
DSP563xx Emulator. Finally some real progress (Access Virus, Nord Lead, TC PowerCore, Waldorf MW...) Software Apr 7, 2021
Loading...