Mod wheel of midi keyboard in Kontakt not working.

Discussion in 'Software' started by Wolfang, Jul 5, 2020.

  1. Wolfang

    Wolfang Ultrasonic

    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2019
    Messages:
    148
    Likes Received:
    25
    As the title says, the mod wheel doesn't work in Kontakt 6. Every other key includes pitch wheel works fine.
    Any solution?
     
  2.  
  3. Trurl

    Trurl Rock Star

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2019
    Messages:
    725
    Likes Received:
    386
    Well, it always pays to start with the obvious- does it work in anything else?
     
  4. Wolfang

    Wolfang Ultrasonic

    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2019
    Messages:
    148
    Likes Received:
    25
    Good point. I just checked it with 5 different VSTi, and it worked fine.
     
  5. Haliax

    Haliax Platinum Record

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2019
    Messages:
    394
    Likes Received:
    274
    Location:
    Inside the Outside
    What keyboard is it? You might have more luck mentioning your hardware
     
  6. Trurl

    Trurl Rock Star

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2019
    Messages:
    725
    Likes Received:
    386
    Huh, that's pretty weird. So Kontakt might be filtering out cc1. I don't know that Kontakt is even set up with global MIDI filters but... maybe? Maybe route around on the main option page and look for something like that. Are you accessing Kontakt through a DAW, or directly?? And what libraries have you tried in Kontakt?
     
  7. Wolfang

    Wolfang Ultrasonic

    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2019
    Messages:
    148
    Likes Received:
    25
    It's Korg Micro Key 37.
     
  8. Wolfang

    Wolfang Ultrasonic

    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2019
    Messages:
    148
    Likes Received:
    25
    Through DAW. I've never tried it directly. Need to try it out. Thanks!
     
  9. Haliax

    Haliax Platinum Record

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2019
    Messages:
    394
    Likes Received:
    274
    Location:
    Inside the Outside
    Have you manually assigned the mod wheel to a parameter anywhere in either your DAW or Kontakt?
     
  10. Wolfang

    Wolfang Ultrasonic

    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2019
    Messages:
    148
    Likes Received:
    25
    Yes, here is my setting:

    Kontakt mod wheel.JPG

    The left side is in DAW and the right side is in Kontakt itself.
     
  11. Wolfang

    Wolfang Ultrasonic

    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2019
    Messages:
    148
    Likes Received:
    25
    I just found the mod wheel actually worked. But the GUI doesn't show the movement of the wheel. Another weird part is that the sound is different between using the physical mod wheel on the midi keyboard and using the wheel on the screen.

    1) When the physical mod wheel used: Sounds like sustain.
    2) When the wheel on the screen used: Sounds like vibrato

    Is it normal, or mine is something wrong?
     
  12. Trurl

    Trurl Rock Star

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2019
    Messages:
    725
    Likes Received:
    386
    Sounds like the wheel is being re-routed to a different cc# by your DAW to me. And judging by the behavior you say, it's controller 64.
     
  13. Wolfang

    Wolfang Ultrasonic

    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2019
    Messages:
    148
    Likes Received:
    25
    How can it be re-routed? I didn't touch anything though. I'm using S1 and Reaper, and both of them behave the same. I'm not sure if it is their default setting. What I've been understanding is the mod wheel is supposed to be assigned as vibrato, but not sustain as default.
    Btw, what do you mean to controller 64?
     
  14. Smoove Grooves

    Smoove Grooves Audiosexual

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2019
    Messages:
    1,981
    Likes Received:
    753
    Control Change #64 is Sustain pedal.
    And Mod wheel, for Modulation!, is CC #1. Not "assigned as vibrato" as such, no.
    Does this not illustrate that the fault is with your keyboard?
    Like, you had the sustain pedal held when you had inadvertenly clicked something like Control Assign on your keyboard and you were also using the mod wheel??
    And then your mod wheel became a sus pedal.
    Use MIDI Monitor or your daw and move your mod wheel.
    Do you see cc#64?
     
    Last edited: Jul 13, 2020
    • Like Like x 2
    • Agree Agree x 1
    • List
  15. Trurl

    Trurl Rock Star

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2019
    Messages:
    725
    Likes Received:
    386
    ^^^^^^^^^^^^^^
    That makes sense.
     
    • Like Like x 1
    • Agree Agree x 1
    • List
  16. Wolfang

    Wolfang Ultrasonic

    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2019
    Messages:
    148
    Likes Received:
    25
    I used the midi monitor plugin in Reaper, ReaControlMidi, but it didn't show the log only for Kontakt. It shows the log for other plugins though. It's weird. I have no idea how to monitor the midi log in S1.
     
  17. Smoove Grooves

    Smoove Grooves Audiosexual

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2019
    Messages:
    1,981
    Likes Received:
    753
    Well there's a little standalone app called MIDI monitor too. https://www.snoize.com/MIDIMonitor/
    But just move your mod wheel and the data will show up in the log in ReaControlMIDI as it's happening; you won't see anything until you do.
    Move the mod wheel and see what cc# is logged.
    Or just record some MIDI using your mod wheel into S1 and have a look at the MIDI!
     
    • Like Like x 1
    • Agree Agree x 1
    • List
  18. Wolfang

    Wolfang Ultrasonic

    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2019
    Messages:
    148
    Likes Received:
    25
    Great! Thank you!
    I just checked it and this is the part of the result:

    598: B0 40 1C [CC64 Hold Pedal] chan 1 val 28
    599: B0 40 1B [CC64 Hold Pedal] chan 1 val 27
    600: B0 40 1A [CC64 Hold Pedal] chan 1 val 26

    It seems that the mod wheel works fine, and seems to be assigned as the pedal. Is it proper? Plus, the mod wheel on the interface still doesn't move at all.
     
  19. No Avenger

    No Avenger Audiosexual

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2017
    Messages:
    4,019
    Likes Received:
    2,812
    Location:
    Europe
    1. That's what Smoovy already thought.
    2. Nope. Sustain is a switch (more precise a push button), controlling this with a continuous controller is nonsense.
    3. Because the interface's mod wheel isn't routed to sustain but to CC01 (most probably). If you realign your controller's mod wheel to CC01 it will.
     
Loading...
Loading...