Mixing is hard than making MUSIC are Mix Engineers the New Musisicans

Discussion in 'Lounge' started by Pure Energy, May 10, 2020.

1. Pure Energy

Pure Energy Producer

Well thats what I find anyone eles it is so boring trying this and that I would love to send it out but do they put reverb that you like, the delay, make a chant etc... do you put all that stuff on the say mix it

im learning all the eq and all the rest but it is so time consuming
    I see a lot of people just use other peoples loops is that a musician ?

put this bass loop on this drum loop and add effects
    it seems that engineers are the new musicians when it comes to dance music.

anyway

now to eq the hihats and put some verb on them and call it a day for now

I am not an engineer I create music as a hobby

3. JMOUTTON

JMOUTTON Audiosexual

My view is that they are two different things. Although you will find some mix engineers are musical it is not a necessity.

Remember there are thousands of so called mix engineers working at advertising agencies, television stations and radio stations everyday and none needs to be especially musical.

• Agree Agree x 3
    • Like Like x 2
    • List
  4. The Pirate

The Pirate Audiosexual

Blame or thank technology for it. Who would have thought of "mastering" in a bedroom, with cracked $100 plugins, and headphones, 20 years ago? Nowadays we have one-man-does it all tracks all over the place. This is why there is so many crappy sounding tracks out there. The majority of people listed as engineer, and mastering engineers on some those tracks would not be able to find themselves in a real recording studio. And it is not only EDM. In other genres, it is equally bad. With a capital B.

• Like Like x 2
    • Agree Agree x 2
    • List
  5. Ikagura

Ikagura Producer