Mixing In Mono ?

Discussion in 'Mac / Hackintosh' started by james123, Nov 6, 2014.

1. james123

james123 Newbie

Hey Friends

I am new In Music Production, Want to know something from you friends.
    I read that ''Mix In Mono'..What does that mean ? I Use FL Studio.

3. mercurysoto

mercurysoto Audiosexual

The bottom of the rabbit hole, next to Alice's
    Regardless of the DAW you use, mixing in mono means using a mono configuration in your monitors and make mixing decisions like that. This mono summing could come from a plug-in, a mono button at your monitor controller or mixing console, or a mono master fader. The rationale behind this is that in stereo, both speakers - if well calibrated - form a ghost center image: You feel there's sound Information coming out inbetween the speakers. This gives you depth and 3D imaging in your mixes. However, if you deviate from your mixing position or if sound comes from only one speaker, your effort in balancing the mix gets whacked. Although not many people really pay attention to this, if you mix in mono, you increase the chance of retaining a mix that is more prone to sound balanced in undesired listening conditions (like an FM alarm clock radio on top of a fridge, for instance).

It doesn't mean that you don't use the pan pots. You actually mix as if it were stereo, but your monitors are in mono setup. What's going to happen is that as you move the pan pots, some sounds will get masked and others will be fronted. Once you feel that a good balance has been achieved, when you turn to stereo, you realize how open now the stereo image is.

I hope this helps.
    Best of luck.

4. Catalyst

Catalyst Audiosexual

There is a great video in AudioSex Academy (Part I: Mixing) on this topic. I highly recommend taking a trip down to that section of the forums, a lot of great information that is concise and easy to understand for the fledgling producer or even those that are more advanced.

5. james123

james123 Newbie