Mixing in 5.1 Stereo (Software & Advice)

Discussion in 'Mixing and Mastering' started by MalcolmTucker, Apr 8, 2017.

1. MalcolmTucker

MalcolmTucker Noisemaker

Hi there,

I've been tasked with the sound design and mixing for a project this weekend and have been asked if I can mix in 5.1, something that I've never done before.

Is there any stereo to surround VSTs you can recommend? And are there any bits of advice you can impart? I've got FL12, two monitors, a pair of headphones and a belly full of nerves. Help!

3. saltwater

saltwater Guest

4. junh1024

junh1024 Rock Star

5.1 surround is 6 discrete channels.

stereo is 2 discrete channels.

stereo is not surround, unless you want to mix in matrixed surround???

What kind of project? music? video? film?

I can suggest some, but the usual process is you mix IN 5.1, not mix in 2,0 and upscale afterwards. This loses the whole point of 51. People can just press the upscale button on their AVR if you don't mix in 51 natievly.

You can upscale SELECT CONTENT to 51, and pan/mix in 51 the rest.

since FL doesn't support surround natively, it would require an INCREDIBLE amount of hax to mix in 5.1 natively (like abusing buses). Unless you're mixing in binaural/HRTF.

Easiest thing would be to use say, cubendo, logic pro, ntrack, reaper, etc something which supports 5.1 (or at least multichannel) NATIVELY.

(oh, And Adobe Audition, I use that)

Last edited: Apr 8, 2017
  5. recycle

recycle Guest

mixing for 5.1

- daw master output on 6 channels,
    - an audio interface with 6 analog channels
    - 5 monitors and a subwoower

Create and mix your project, then export the 6 tracks individually.
    Now, if requested, you can encode your master in .ac3 (google for “Dolby Digital ac3 encoder”)

I cant imagine a way to acheive 5.1 results in a stereo enviroment

Last edited by a moderator: Apr 8, 2017
  6. junh1024

junh1024 Rock Star