Mixing Headphones? ($350 budget)

Discussion in 'Mixing and Mastering' started by Qiloo, Mar 25, 2022.

1. Qiloo

Qiloo Ultrasonic

Hi,

I own a pair Audio Technica's ATH-M50X & I'm looking for an upgrade. I work as a mix & mastering engineer but I also produce electronic music (Techno, House, DnB) so bass is needed.

The idea is to get something that translates very well to most playback systems.

My options right now are: AKG K712, Beyerdynamic DT900 PROX, Sennheiser HD600.

3. Oneeyedstan

Oneeyedstan Platinum Record

• Like Like x 1
    • Interesting Interesting x 1
    • List
  4. Pule

Pule Producer

"that translates very well to most playback systems" - invest in quality speakers / room

5. lowsat

lowsat Member

whatever you get, you should also get dsoniq realphones.

• Like Like x 1
    • Winner Winner x 1
    • List
  6. BEAT16

BEAT16 Audiosexual

I trust Beyerdynamic and therefore recommend: Beyerdynamic DT900 PROX

• Agree Agree x 2
    • Like Like x 1
    • List
  7. Adam Ford

Adam Ford Producer

I'd go for Sennheiser HD 600 or 6XX or HiFiman Sundara, can't go wrong with these and you'll get probably the best bang for your money up to the 600-700 range.
    Just make sure to pair it with a correction tool like Sonarworks Reference, AA Sienna, Realphones or Morphit.

• Like Like x 1
    • Agree Agree x 1
    • List
  8. Raydachef

Raydachef Noisemaker

9. Qiloo

Qiloo Ultrasonic

I own a pair of Focal Alpha 80 along with a treated room but I also need headphones.

10. Lois Lane

Lois Lane Audiosexual

Once you become acclimated to any headphone that you choose and become familiar with them you'll know precisely how they translate to your Focal Alpha 80 monitors in your room with which you now have an intimate relationship. On that note, the open backed variety might help you sort out easier the low, low-mid end of the spectrum.

• Like Like x 1
    • Interesting Interesting x 1
    • Useful Useful x 1
    • List
  11. DKB

DKB Producer