Mixing feedback please (medium-tempo acoustic)

Discussion in 'Mixing and Mastering' started by ehxhfl443, Aug 6, 2017.

1. ehxhfl443

ehxhfl443 Newbie

Hi, this is my first time mixing live drum and instruments; I usually work on dance music. (Not that I am good with dance music though. I am a noob as you guys can see soon. I have worse knowledge on live music.)

I was trying to figure things out on my own, but except fixing details which I could do later in the process, I haven't got any clue what major issues need to be fixed before I do mastering.

I hope experienced mixers out there could give me a little piece of advice. :)

The link to my mixing work:

Tracks I listened as references:

*It would be also really helpful if you could list some tracks that I could use as a reference. I am really not familiar with working on this type of music :) Thanks.

3. dragonhill

dragonhill Guest

Overall it sounds pretty good. Sounds like a good R & B band.

How many mics on the drums? Just watched a few Sound Radix Auto Align videos recently. Aligning all the drum tracks is your first step.
    The aligning source seems divided though. It's either the OH closest to the snare or the snare itself. Snare as a source makes sense to me...?
    Maybe back off on compression in general esp if you are going to master it.

4. ehxhfl443

ehxhfl443 Newbie

Thank you, sir. I will fix the problem and maybe repost the revised version.

5. dragonhill

dragonhill Guest

Maybe edit your first post instead of a new thread? Did you auto align?

6. outofnames

outofnames Newbie

not too bad IMHO

7. Seedz

Seedz Rock Star

I'm assuming you've jacked up the overall level just for evaluation here? Otherwise its probs way too hot to go to mastering as it is..

Maybe a tiny bit of the bass vol? And I'm not really liking the pop at the attack of the snare, just a bit to obvious, again maybe a tiny pull back on the initial transient?