Metalcore / Electronicore/ Djent Beginner Question

Discussion in 'Lounge' started by opticalmann, Jan 5, 2023.

1. opticalmann

opticalmann Newbie

First off what's up with everyone!? Happy New Year.

I have been a member of Audio for a long time, and I really enjoy the community. Everything on here is legit fire so I want to put a shout out to everyone that takes time to make this place amazing.
    PS. Would be cool if they took donations.

I have been producing for the past 3 years with a passion of all genres. However, I really love Progressive Metal/ Djent/ Metalcore / Ect. I unfortunately do not have the talent to play a real guitar at the level I would like. I do have a friend who plays. I have some questions for those of you who may know.

1) I notice that this genre for some odd reason lacks real community / plugin / sample support. I know it's there for some but it's just not as popular. Where can I find community wise or if here, a place to really learn what others are using? or their experiences in the genre?

2) Any recommendations on learning how to build a song from scratch in this genre using only VST's?

3) Best plugins for people that want to get into this genre with all VST's?

I appreciate all of you heavily.

WITHIN THE RUINS FOREVER BB!

3. jarredou

jarredou Producer

Some good virtual guitars for metal(core) :
    Ample Sound Metal Hellrazer
    Impact Soundworks Shreddage serie
    Wavelet Cabal 8

There's also a free & open source one (I've never tried it): https://github.com/JamesStubbsEng/8ridgelite

4. jarredou

jarredou Producer

5. Ak3mi91

Ak3mi91 Platinum Record

It's might not be exactly what you are looking for, but the only djent-related community that I know is Riffhard. It's a website created by John Browne from Monuments. I believe you get access to their Discord channel as well if you buy a membership (I'm not sure, though).

https://www.riffhard.com/

6. tzzsmk

tzzsmk Audiosexual