melodyne and auto tune

Discussion in 'Education' started by Floyd, Feb 13, 2020.

  1. Floyd

    Floyd Member

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2018
    Messages:
    66
    Likes Received:
    17
    hey guys, been a while but I am back and much more experienced.... i am wondering if a artist recorded a take that wasnt the best if i could then use melodyne to fix it before I auto tune, reason I ask is that i find that even in the right key autotune does not sound right at times.

    i have issues getting auto tune to work properly on certain vocals and I am curious to know how you guys go about fixing this issue.

    thanks in advance for any tips/help
     
  2.  
  3. Baxter

    Baxter Audiosexual

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2011
    Messages:
    3,106
    Likes Received:
    1,927
    Location:
    Sweden
    Yes, ofc you can use them in serial.
     
    • Like Like x 2
    • Agree Agree x 1
    • List
  4. MarkSlater

    MarkSlater Kapellmeister

    Joined:
    May 16, 2012
    Messages:
    139
    Likes Received:
    52
    In fact that is the best way of working. First you process it with Melodyne, then add Auto-Tune as much as you feel, depending of the music style that you make. I am happy though to only use Melodyne, in my style of music, cause I want everything to sound as naturally as possible, but without sounding out of tune. :cheers:
     
    • Like Like x 5
    • Winner Winner x 1
    • List
  5. Floyd

    Floyd Member

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2018
    Messages:
    66
    Likes Received:
    17

    Ok that makes sense, it means I am on the right track then.

    How about the high pitched auto tune sound certain artists have does that have more to do with the natural sound of their voice or do engineer have some kind of trick they use to emphasize the sound of the autotune a bit more than you can get out of just auto tune.

    Finally do you guys use melodyne with PT10 cuz I can't seem to find a cracked one that works and loads properly i keep getting memory errors on anything above 2.2
     
  6. MarkSlater

    MarkSlater Kapellmeister

    Joined:
    May 16, 2012
    Messages:
    139
    Likes Received:
    52
    Can you give an example of high pitched auto tune voice that you reffer to? :unsure:
     
  7. Floyd

    Floyd Member

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2018
    Messages:
    66
    Likes Received:
    17

    Sure see the song below for reference

     
  8. MarkSlater

    MarkSlater Kapellmeister

    Joined:
    May 16, 2012
    Messages:
    139
    Likes Received:
    52
    Thanks. I am also interested to find out if there is any special setting on auto tune to make it sound like this.
    Maybe they use auto tune efx? :dunno:
    Could someone who does this kind of processing regularely tell us? :guru:
     
  9. Floyd

    Floyd Member

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2018
    Messages:
    66
    Likes Received:
    17
    As far as I know auto tune efx and pro etc all sound mostly the same although some people say this or that one might sound smoother etc but as for the high pitched sound my guess is it has nothing to do with which version of autotune was used, I have heard it's the singer but these guys sound nothing like this on stage so I am curious to know if there is some method they use to achieve this
     
  10. ThugLife

    ThugLife Producer

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2018
    Messages:
    177
    Likes Received:
    139
    Imo in the first place it Depends a lot on the right settings.
    First you have to choose the right input Type. If you put autotune on somebody with a low voice, but use a Soprano setting, autotune wont make a good Job on the lower Notes. Tracking, retune speed (fast), correction style classic, less Vibrato and less humanizing...
    Another Aspect is recording with autotune or not. If you dont record with autotune processing, you will only know afterwards how it reacts, you will be more in tune naturally, because you hear what you do, not what autotune does, which results in less correction in my opinion (you dont have to Print autotune directly, just put it on the monitoring)
    And you can also play with the Order of plugins in your fx chain. For me it feels like some fx before autotune force AT to work a Bit Stronger. For example I feel like more High frequency, less lows result in more tuning.
    These are the points where you can make a difference. Of course you are right, different Voices trigger different fx different.
    Thats why we cant put a default setting on any mix and any voice and have a perfect mix
     
  11. MarkSlater

    MarkSlater Kapellmeister

    Joined:
    May 16, 2012
    Messages:
    139
    Likes Received:
    52
    T
    Thanks man! Really helpful insights! :cheers:
     
  12. Floyd

    Floyd Member

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2018
    Messages:
    66
    Likes Received:
    17
    How do I put it on in the monitoring, I usually just slap it on whatever track I am recording on and that doesn't give the best results so I usually record dry and tune after.

    I've never tried adding fx before autotune, that's interesting and in theory should for it to work harder and in turn get me closer to the result I am looking for.
     
  13. ThugLife

    ThugLife Producer

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2018
    Messages:
    177
    Likes Received:
    139
    You're absolutely welcome my friends. Even though my suggestions are pretty Basic, I hope it will at least a Bit of help for the results of your Future productions. Unfortunately i am also no pro. But there are a lot of tutorials on youtube on how to Set autotune up to Sound like t-pain (Type something like "autotune t-pain tutorial) which should be suitable because t-pain also used heavy autotune processing.
    Good luck my friend and thank you for being grateful :mates:
     
  14. ThugLife

    ThugLife Producer

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2018
    Messages:
    177
    Likes Received:
    139
    Depends on your Hardware and daw. The Best way is of course if you have uad Hardware and autotune to use it via dsp calculation, because it wont cause any latency.
    But dont worry, I also dont have uad Hardware but can do it. I cant speak for other DAWs but im sure you can do this with Any daw. You just have to use the input monitoring of your daw.
    I use pro tools and record with a low buffer size, internal input monitoring and the low latency Option in autotune enabled on the track i'm recording. This way you hear autotune while recording. I can even also Print it if I want to because I created a mic in channel that then runs into all my recording tracks. If you also use pro tools, I could send you a preset i Made.
     
  15. Floyd

    Floyd Member

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2018
    Messages:
    66
    Likes Received:
    17
    I do

    I do use protools so that would be much appreciated, also what autotune version are you using because mine does not have that low latency option I normally use autotune efx when I try to record with live auto tune but I can never hear the auto tune even though it shows its processing my voice which is strange because I hear reverb and delay though those are usually on a AUX
     
  16. ThugLife

    ThugLife Producer

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2018
    Messages:
    177
    Likes Received:
    139
    Great, this makes it even easier.
    I cant speak for efx but I think this already is a stripped down Version with lower latency, you will find out while trying. For me it definitely works. I tried it while using 8.1 because I havent installed 9 yet on my Main machine. But I know at least the 9 pro also has a low latency Option, i'll have to take a look at the efx Version but you can try it if you have latency then with a low buffer size. If Not i would not care about it.
    No problem, i'll give you a .ptx with my Routing, should also work for you :)
     
  17. Floyd

    Floyd Member

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2018
    Messages:
    66
    Likes Received:
    17
    Lol I run a hacked version of PT 10 and I tried a bunch of AT pro versions and none load I keep getting errors, even melodyne 4 give me a memory error before protools even can even finish loading.

    So I use melodyne v2 and auto tune EVO/efx
     
  18. ThugLife

    ThugLife Producer

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2018
    Messages:
    177
    Likes Received:
    139
    Oh yeah I can imagine that, but afaik the Newer releases of 9 work well, but are probably not available as rtas or 32 Bit aax. You should be a lot better with pt 12... at least for me it works great and i can make use of the great New aax plugins available. I Hope my ptx is going to work properly on your pt 10 because im pretty sure my vca channels wont work on there But we'll see.
    I'll hit you up via PM in a few Minutes. If you have Any questions regarding my template or else, dont hesitate to ask
     
  19. Floyd

    Floyd Member

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2018
    Messages:
    66
    Likes Received:
    17
    Alright brother, I do have 12 aswell but I found 10 to be more reliable in the past, gonna check the sister site and download a fresh copy of PT 12 to see how that works for me.

    Thanks again
     
  20. ThugLife

    ThugLife Producer

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2018
    Messages:
    177
    Likes Received:
    139
    you got pm bruh

    no prob =)
     
  21. Floyd

    Floyd Member

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2018
    Messages:
    66
    Likes Received:
    17
    Yup thanks a bunch
     
Loading...
Similar Threads - melodyne auto tune Forum Date
MELODYNE 5 VS AUTO-TUNE PRO : the 2020-Covid19-era debate Software May 26, 2020
Melodyne vs Autotune? Software Jan 27, 2017
melodyne vs auto-tune Software Mar 21, 2016
Britney Spears without Auto-Tune/Melodyne Lounge Jul 13, 2014
Melodyne auto transfer (offline)? Software Jul 24, 2018
Loading...