Mastering questions for people familiar with Ozone 8.

Discussion in 'Mixing and Mastering' started by flguy, Apr 17, 2019.

1. flguy

flguy Ultrasonic

I'm a complete noob to mastering, and have a few questions. I know that some of these questions are all subjective to the type of song, but I'm looking for a good starting point until I can train my ear well enough.

When using Ozone 8 to master, what would be the "best" IRC mode to use for modern trap / hip hop? Whenever I use a reference track, it defaults to IRC II, which I've heard here and there to stay away from if you're a noob. I've been using IRC IV on the "modern" setting, would that be a good starting point? Is there a specific mode that I really can't go wrong using, that won't do major negative damage to the track as I learn how to master?

Secondly, when using the youlean loudness, meter my true peak max always hovers around 2.5-3.0 db. I can't get a definitive answer if that is bad or not as some people say it won't make a difference, others say it will. Should I work on lowering this, and how can I go about doing that, because my levels are all in good range and I'm not maximizing to more than -14db, yet I can never seem to get it lower than 2db.

My last question is for people experienced in mastering. For hip hop, what frequencies do specifically target to EQ when mastering? I'd assume making some reductions to the mids for vocals, and some light boosts in the lows for bass heavy tracks, and a small boost in the highs to open the track up so to speak. Would you say those are good starting points?

Thanks in advance for helping a noob out.

3. Satai

Satai Rock Star

Best Answer