Master Keyboard - Key sensibility in mind

Discussion in 'Instruments' started by Rolma, May 3, 2018.

1. Rolma

Rolma Guest

Hi Guys,

I m thinking of getting a new piece of gear. I have been using M-Audio Oxygen 49 for about 4 years now, but I’m in a stage in which I would like to spend more time playing, getting ideas from actual rehearsing, instead of focusing solely on the midi editor… So I need a bit of advice about what is there, and so hear about what you have or do.

Personally, I’m after to increase my sensations and interactions with the keyboard. I have in mind controllers as Akai advance, Akai MPK 2, Komplete etc, although I’m completely open to learn about other options.

On the other hand, I can perfectly live without niceties as sound library management, huge sound packages or extensive fine tuned parameterization dialogs with VSTs, if that makes a big difference in the final price, but I certainly want to move on from the limitations of M –Audio Oxygen.

3. mozee

mozee Audiosexual

Depends on where you are... you can comb the advert sites for an older Studio Logic with a Fatar keybed, they are for the most part very well built and easy to repair. I mean moving away from that older M-A Oxygen anything will probably be an upgrade. You kind of have to set the ballpark and have more defined parameters than what is better than what I've got....

4. bluerover

bluerover Audiosexual

You want synth or hammer-action?

Knobs/sliders or no?

Midi out or USB out or both?

Integrated sounds / workstation this time?

Get 88-keys.

5. Willum

Willum Rock Star

The limiting factor in the end will be how much you want to spend and can you fit an 88 key or do you need a smaller keyboard?

6. fiction

fiction Audiosexual

The feeling of all those keybeds from different manufacturers is a very personal thing, I've seen people love keyboards that are loud, clicky and feel cheap for my taste.