massive x not working properly

Discussion in 'Software' started by tun, Jul 11, 2019.

  1. tun

    tun Ultrasonic

    Joined:
    May 13, 2016
    Messages:
    123
    Likes Received:
    24
    i downloaded massive x from the sister sister site but i seem to be having problems with the install.
    i installed according to the nfo, which is just "install", nothing too complicated. but it doesnt seem to show up in my copy of live (an old one from sister site), nor do i see a standalone version anywhere.
    is there even a standalone version?
    i can see the .dll in the folder i pointed it to, but cant see it in live.


    bonus question, is there a 32bit version? im a cubase 5 user primarily.

    thanks
     
  2.  
  3. wuzzle

    wuzzle Producer

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2014
    Messages:
    183
    Likes Received:
    105
    Location:
    Lesser Galactic Co-ordinates: Earth (0.0.0)
    MASSIVE X requires an AVX-compatible CPU to run. They don't currently offer standalone. Still no released manual. I don't see specific notes anywhere if there's a 32 bit version included, but it definitely wasn't in the one on the sister site.

    if it's not showing up in live, perhaps your live is a 32 bit version. that then would make sense.
     
  4. tun

    tun Ultrasonic

    Joined:
    May 13, 2016
    Messages:
    123
    Likes Received:
    24
    Thanks for the help.

    My copy of live is 64bit.
    Maybe my CPU is not AVX compatible. Do you know how i might be able to check this?
    Would that cause it to not show at all?

    While writing this im starting to have some doubts that my copy of live is 64bit :)
    I will check that when i can.

    Thanks
     
  5. DJK

    DJK Rock Star

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2017
    Messages:
    655
    Likes Received:
    301
    Location:
    felixstowe england
    google your cpu makers web page, that will tell you
     
    • Like Like x 1
    • Agree Agree x 1
    • List
  6. Gyro Gearloose

    Gyro Gearloose Producer

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2019
    Messages:
    228
    Likes Received:
    88
    avx comp. starts from 2011 -2012 with sandy bridge
    ---
    oh dude oh dude:mates::hillbilly::deep_facepalm::mates::mates::grooves::grooves::grooves:

    nope and i wouldnt try to bridge it..but you can try ...but since this baby is a beta erm delta release...:no:

    i must admit i asking myself right now if vsti are bridgeable and not only vst effects...
    -------
    he is totally trippin in positive ways on it


    only good review i saw
     
    Last edited: Jul 11, 2019
  7. phumb-reh

    phumb-reh Member

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2019
    Messages:
    18
    Likes Received:
    15
    There's a handy tool (for Windows) called CPU-Z than can show your processor features:

    https://cpuid.com/softwares/cpu-z.html

    On MacOS you can use sysctl from the command line: "sysctl -a | grep machdep.cpu.features"

    Look for "AVX", obviously.

    Both the Windows' Task Manager and MacOS's Activity Monitor should be able to tell you if an application is running in 32-bit mode.
     
  8. tun

    tun Ultrasonic

    Joined:
    May 13, 2016
    Messages:
    123
    Likes Received:
    24
    i cant find any mention of my CPU being AVX anywhere so im going to assume its not. my computer is old though so its unlikely.

    i checked and i was right, my copy is definitely 64bit :rofl:
    i doubt my existence sometimes :dunno:

    still not really sure why its not showing up at all. maybe the fact that its not AVX compatible causes it to not appear
     
  9. phumb-reh

    phumb-reh Member

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2019
    Messages:
    18
    Likes Received:
    15
    It looks like that on non-AVX CPUs it fails validation (Live doesn't report these in the UI) , you can check the plugin log file at %APPDATA%\Ableton\<your live version>\Preferences\PluginScanner.txt , look for things like "Failed to load plugin" or just Massive, perhaps?
     
  10. thantrax

    thantrax Audiosexual

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2012
    Messages:
    2,377
    Likes Received:
    2,354
    Location:
    Italy
    On Twitter people talks good about Massive X. Happy users shows himself while are making music.

    On AudioSex perople is upset about Massive X and its glitches.

    There is something wrong.
     
  11. tun

    tun Ultrasonic

    Joined:
    May 13, 2016
    Messages:
    123
    Likes Received:
    24
    I guess that must be it then. I will check the log but it certainly sounds correct.

    Thats dissapointing :(
    I was looking forward to trying it. There are plenty of other synths i can use though.


    Thanks for the help everyone
     
  12. Rudy Manterie

    Rudy Manterie Producer

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2018
    Messages:
    344
    Likes Received:
    133
    Location:
    Callisto
    MX has great presets imho and a superb sound. :dunno:
     
Loading...
Similar Threads - massive working properly Forum Date
Is someone working on the NI Massive sound bank release yet? Software Jun 10, 2017
Massive standalone working link? Working with Sound Dec 17, 2015
MASSIVE X GUI BUG (need FIX) Software Jun 28, 2019
Native Instruments releases Massive X flagship wavetable synthesizer Software News Jun 27, 2019
Native Instruments Massive X - First Look & Features Walkthrough Software News Jun 27, 2019
Loading...