Looking for a new audio/midi interface

Discussion in 'Soundgear' started by safran5020, Mar 26, 2017.

1. safran5020

safran5020 Platinum Record

I actually own a Tascam US-200 and I have been using this interface for quite a while now. I always been a little disappointed with my choice (at that time I was going with my budget). The reason I was disappointed was the fact that it crashes my system quite often with BSOD or simply lost of communication/sound. The USB drivers are the culprit and Tascam never released any update since. Beside that, it answered my needs and latency is more than acceptable.

I am a keyboardist and I am not using my gear professionally anymore. I am a hobbyist now, and for the last 10 years I have been playing and composing in my humble home studio, just for myself, and I have no intention of going back professional.

I still own my road gear though and its time for me to refresh some of my toys :)

My needs (similar specs to Tascam US-200) :

- MIDI in/out
    - at least 1 Mic XLR Input
    - at least 1 line Input
    - at least 4 Outputs (for two distinct PA systems)
    - USB3

I am asking for your suggestions here. I don't have a budget limit.

Thanks

PS : My next buy will be a good pair of studio monitor for a 12 ft. x 12 ft. room.

3. Matt777

Matt777 Rock Star

USB 3 and no budget limit, it's easy:

- RME Madiface (XT, PRO) around 2000$, 1100$
    - Presonus 192 (also portable version avaiable) 900$, 600$
    - ZOOM UAC-2 250$

I don't know ANY other USB 3.x interfaces. Seems that round trip latency does not benefit from it (channel count, maybe). So even Focusrite, Apogee, Prism Sound.. don't produce USB 3 even in 2017.

I am a keyboard player too and looking for lowest latency, but it seems USB 2.x isn't the bottleneck.

4. safran5020

Thanks for your feedback

- RME Madiface (XT, PRO) : MADI I/O technology is not something I need and paying the extra money for it wouldn't be a judicious choice.