Longtime Ableton users/max users/power users I have a few questions.

Discussion in 'Live' started by thethirdperson, Jul 21, 2016.

  1. thethirdperson

    thethirdperson Producer

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2015
    Messages:
    300
    Likes Received:
    87
    Is there anyway to get more then 128 samples in your drum rack to be used as "128s"?
    Also is there anyway to get 8 more macros?
    Is there anyway to make it so that the Macros assigned to each knob of 128s rename themselves to name of the sample on the macros everytime you stop scrolling. Or would I need to figure out making a Max Device to do that?
    Also is there a sort of comprehensive video tutorial series that addresses max4live?

    Thanks =)
     
  2.  
  3. floond

    floond Platinum Record

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2013
    Messages:
    352
    Likes Received:
    156
    If you sacrifice two macro knobs you can place an instrument rack on a drum rack pad, say C1, then place up to 128 Samplers inside the instrument rack with 128 kicks in each. Map the Sample selector from each Sampler to the same macro knob, and map the instrument rack's chain selector to another macro knob. That will potentially make 16384(!) kicks available on C1 lol.

    The Covert Operators made a Sixteen Macros M4L device you might find useful.

    Automatic knob renaming I think you have to code yourself, if its possible at all :s

    There are some maxforlive tutorials available on the sister site. The documentation is quite elaborate as well, with interactive examples. Still..it's a deep hole to dig into lol. Best of luck to ya!
     
  4. thethirdperson

    thethirdperson Producer

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2015
    Messages:
    300
    Likes Received:
    87
    16,384 Kicks! Thanks for your help though, this will prove to be challenging but I'm sure persistence is key :wink:
     
  5. Cav Emp

    Cav Emp Audiosexual

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2014
    Messages:
    2,127
    Likes Received:
    1,751
    I think it's probably possible to have 128 sample zones velocity layered :dunno:

    I mean you can always put more samples into a Sampler but it's finding a convenient way to play them back that's the challenge. IMO not worth the extra work.

    Also, there are free max devices that allow you to use 16 macros. I wouldn't know where to find them anymore though. Sorry

    Edit: http://www.maxforlive.com/library/device.php?id=646
    Sixteen Macros is part of that collection

    Also, floond's idea is really sharp. I hadn't thought of that
     
    Last edited: Jul 22, 2016
Loading...
Similar Threads - Longtime Ableton users Forum Date
Soundfont not loading on Ableton's Sampler Samplers, Synthesizers Sunday at 10:30 AM
What is a fair selling price for Ableton Live 9 Suite? Selling / Buying Saturday at 6:39 PM
How about a Ableton Max4Live Thread? Live May 5, 2021
Ableton Metronome (Click) Live Apr 29, 2021
Programm for Converting Sample CD's for Ableton Sampler Samplers, Synthesizers Apr 23, 2021
Loading...