LogicPro & Novation SL 49 MKII

Discussion in 'Soundgear' started by ElMoreno, Sep 14, 2017.

1. ElMoreno

ElMoreno Kapellmeister

Hello audioz friends,

I need your advice and help…

I would buy a Midi Controller and I was thinking about the Novation SL 49 MKII.

What do you think about that Novation? Someone of you have that keyboard? Do you recommend it to me?

I play Pop and Latin music and I would automize everything with LogicPro (Volume, Expression, Parameters, Plugs etc.).

I found a Novation SL 49 MKII for 190 euro, so seem a good price.

Many thanks and good music to all of you.

3. black bounty

black bounty Platinum Record

I have it, because I wanted to use it live with ableton / traktor, adding a kontrol F1.
    but I'm a Logic / protools user too (more than ableton yet, I'm still learning it, actually)

I have pros and cons : it's easy to install automap, and you can automate / control quite every plug ins, DAW, synth

but the screen is really small, and you've gotta learn how to navigate with the keyboard,

and I had to find a tutorial serie dedicated to this controller, which are honestly very hard to find, even on Audioz, so I was lucky
    ( I can share it on the sister site if people want, but my bandwith is very slow, so I think it's better if someone with high speed internet do it - it's the groove 3 serie )

another issue I've had was automap scans plugins each time you launch your DAW,
    I haven't tried the new version yet, but it takes forever if you have selected a lot of plugins
    and most of the time their "abort" button was not responding.

Another thing about automation, is that you're really more precise and efficient with your mouse / trackpad. you can't miss, if you want it there, you'll get it there.

this said, it has the reputation to be a very good controller, and I've seen some people doing great with it, live or studio.
    and 190€ seems a pretty fair price, so, I hope it helps

:bow::mates:

4. robbin_banks