Logic Pro x - Disk too slow or system overload?

Discussion in 'Computer Hardware' started by Aaron.connelly, Mar 9, 2019.

  1. Aaron.connelly

    Aaron.connelly Newbie

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2019
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hi all,

    I recently upgraded to a Macbook pro 2018 with the following specs:

    2.9Ghz Intel Core i9 processor
    32GB RAM
    256Gb SSD
    Running on macOS Mojave 10.14.3

    In Logic I have my system preferences set to:

    buffer size: 256
    buffer process range: large
    Processing Threads: Automatic
    Multithreading: Playback Tracks
    Summing: High Precision
    ReWire behaviour: off

    Most of my project files and related content are stored externally (SD cards / external hard drives etc) and my projects feature about 30-40 tracks on average. I typically don't multitask when using logic and turn wifi off to avoid notifications but, weirdly, it seems to work smoother when I have something like Google Chrome Running in the background. I've attached a screen grab of what my CPU usage looks like right now writing this post and playing a project on Logic at the same time.

    When I'm playing back mixes or recording you can see that my CPU/HD usage is pretty low but, out of nowhere, my system will give me the error message "Disk too slow or System Overload" and I notice the far left audio bar has spiked massively for seemingly no reason. Some days it hardly happens, its usually pretty manageable, but sometimes I cant go any longer than 10 seconds without crashing.

    If anyone knows why this happens or has any ideas on what I can do to fix it that would be very much appreciated right now because today is a very very bad day...
     

    Attached Files:

  2.  
  3. Blue

    Blue Rock Star

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2015
    Messages:
    853
    Likes Received:
    404
    Location:
    France
    Perhaps stupid question but have you tried with a higher buffer?
     
    • Agree Agree x 1
    • Winner Winner x 1
    • List
  4. notsoloud

    notsoloud Kapellmeister

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2019
    Messages:
    77
    Likes Received:
    74
    Location:
    The wrong side of rock bottom
    I set buffer size to the highest possible, then when recording midi, turn on low latency temporarily. Also try process buffer range medium.
    I wish I could tell you there's a fix for this, but I've been thinking that very same thing everytime I buy a powerful new Mac with a faster processor, more cores, more RAM..... that this will never happen again. Nope. New Logic upgrades do nothing either.
    I'm working on a track at the moment and before playback I scroll through to just before a new instrument occurs, play, let it do its panic thing, go back play again and it'll get through, move on to the next etc.... once it's loaded all those data spikes it'll play smoothly from start to finish. It's like trying to make it swallow a large meal in one mouthful. Small bites. No problems.
     
    • Like Like x 1
    • Agree Agree x 1
    • List
  5. fiction

    fiction Rock Star

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2011
    Messages:
    1,207
    Likes Received:
    339
    Only audio tracks?
    Open the "CPU history" window instead of the "CPU usage"and reduce the View > update frequency to the fastest possible.
     
  6. ArticStorm

    ArticStorm Moderator

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2011
    Messages:
    3,882
    Likes Received:
    1,225
    Location:
    AudioSexPro
    "
    Disk too slow or system overload
    "
    one of Logic's little and often seen errors. i know a few producers, which stiopped using logic, because this problem. its present since like Logic 8 and Apple isnt settling it or adressing.
     
    • Like Like x 2
    • Agree Agree x 1
    • List
  7. chard

    chard Newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2019
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    1
    Ok - You're in luck. I see this a problem A LOT.

    You can't really run a Logic (or any DAW) session off an SD card or USB stick. If you have more than a few tracks of audio, the read rate from these devices is often too slow to keep up. Copy your whole project (audio files included) onto a fast external HD or your internal one on the MAC, eject the SD card and reload the session. This will fix this "error" in 90% of cases. This isn't an issue with the software, rather a misunderstanding of how the DAW works. When buying an SD card you should prioritise speed over capacity. If an SD card says it is USB3, that means nothing in regard of it's read/write speeds. You'll find that fast SD cards can cost 10x as much as slower ones. I only use SD cards or USB stick as 'taxis' for my project. I copy them on from one machine and then copy them off to another machine.
    Let me know how you get on.
     
    • Agree Agree x 3
    • Like Like x 1
    • List
  8. notsoloud

    notsoloud Kapellmeister

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2019
    Messages:
    77
    Likes Received:
    74
    Location:
    The wrong side of rock bottom
    My Mac is 3 years old, but I had it maxed-out when new, so it has plenty of power. I also do all my work on an external SSD which is Thunderbolt 2 capable, so I have everything running at optimum efficiency. Or close enough. Yet I still have the problem mentioned in the OP. One solution I've found is when I'm happy with a midi track I freeze it. If you have forty tracks just go through them until all your tracks are frozen (rendered as audio).... I then restart the mac to clear the caches and assorted repositories of unwanted digital nonsense and you'll find the track plays smoothly. If you're happy with the arrangement, export all tracks as audio, import them back into a template for audio only and start mixing. You won't see that "disk too slow" message again, I promise.
     
  9. amadeusex

    amadeusex Member

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2017
    Messages:
    21
    Likes Received:
    11
    The sad fact is: You can't.

    This happened to almost any kind of session I've ever had to work within logic since I can remember (from approximately logic 5 up to now).

    The good thing is that it happened only once per session, usually the first time You've been playing it back.
    After that, it was smooth sailing. Busting [email protected] anyway. Really annoying persistent bug. (maybe even a feature ?)
     
  10. 5teezo

    5teezo Rock Star

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2012
    Messages:
    714
    Likes Received:
    348
    That's the bottleneck right there. Copy the Files to internal SSD and you should be fine. Because the SATA Connection of internal drives faster than external drives connected via USB.
     
  11. Blue

    Blue Rock Star

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2015
    Messages:
    853
    Likes Received:
    404
    Location:
    France
    However I find that strange because some time ago I watched on YT a guy who had maybe 100 tracks in his project with tons of midi tracks on a Macbook Pro.
     
  12. huschiwuschi

    huschiwuschi Platinum Record

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2011
    Messages:
    999
    Likes Received:
    251
    Location:
    Earth
    delete me
     
Loading...
Similar Threads - Logic Disk slow Forum Date
Latest Kontakt and KK version to work with Logic? Software Mar 18, 2019
DAW Question for Logic Pro or FL Studio DAW Mar 17, 2019
CLOSED: Logic Pro X Template a la Beatles Logic Mar 1, 2019
Can't authorize Omnisphere in Logic Software Feb 27, 2019
First Look: Drum Fury Apocalyptic Drums by Sample Logic Software Reviews and Tutorials Feb 21, 2019
Loading...