Learning the piano

Discussion in 'Education' started by Bunford, Sep 20, 2015.

1. Bunford

Bunford Audiosexual

What's the best method for learning the piano and learning music theory?

I do play guitar, bass, drums, some basic piano chords etc, but it is all self taught and I cannot read music and do not know the names of scales etc and more just instinctively know how to play them. However, looking to make some more varied film score type music so want to make a conscious effort to learn the piano and some music theory.

Any advice on ways anybody else has use to teach themselves to play piano/learn theory that has been successful (and quick ideally!)?

Cheers! :wink:

3. Graf

Graf Platinum Record

im the same way Bunford, I understand guitars and drums.. but wrapping my head around the black n whites
    http://www.synthesiagame.com/ is one of the popular ones. but im not using it. a couple I am working on are
    a) just loading a nice video of a song I am working on in my daw, with a piano library. works pretty good that way and I can reach up and RTZ to the point im working on with a finger
    b) I like this guys approach shawn creek https://www.webpianoteacher.com/ and his blog http://www.shawncheekblog.com/ those are paid service but you get a person to email questions and requests

and of course there are endless instructional videos and youtubes out there

good luck with your piano jamming

4. Andrew

Andrew AudioSEX Maestro Staff Member

Try PianoMarvel - they do have lots of lessons for beginners and even pros. It's also 'only' $12 a month, :)

5. Graf

Graf Platinum Record

another one I like is piano hack udemy, piano incredibly quick and easy shapes based system

6. ArticStorm

ArticStorm Audiosexual

perfect pitch and relative pitch course worked fine for me.

7. Graf

Graf Platinum Record

if your interested in composing ditty and having a software correct it for you, there are tools for that as well. notation and score checkers

8. Atick