KRK Rokits saturate

Discussion in 'Studio' started by ripkeed, Jan 9, 2023.

  1. ripkeed

    ripkeed Guest

    Hello, my KRK Rokits saturate when I plug them into my Mac with a jack cable, I need a sound card, right?
     
  2.  
  3. BEAT16

    BEAT16 Audiosexual

    Joined:
    May 24, 2012
    Messages:
    9,082
    Likes Received:
    7,002
    You need a "USB audio interface" such as this one: https://audient.com/products/audio-interfaces/id14/overview/
    How much money do you want to spend? Which operating system do you have?
     
  4. secretworld

    secretworld Producer

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2018
    Messages:
    145
    Likes Received:
    76
    No not really, you need level management. Either set the rokits lower in volume on the speakers or your mac lower and the rokits higher. Or you have a wrong cable?.
     
  5. ripkeed

    ripkeed Guest

  6. No Avenger

    No Avenger Audiosexual

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2017
    Messages:
    8,980
    Likes Received:
    6,206
    Location:
    Europe
    Not necessarily. If your Mac has an analogue audio output, it already has an interface, even if its only an onboard soundchip. Which output did you use?
     
  7. ripkeed

    ripkeed Guest

    It is connected in jack directly to my speakers
     
  8. Tob

    Tob Platinum Record

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2019
    Messages:
    305
    Likes Received:
    200
    I have no clue about your mac. But onboard soundcards typically have a speaker out and an unpowered line out. Make sure you try the line-out output or setting. You can't use the loudness control on your mac this way, but there should be no distortion. you could get a passive monitor controller instead of an interface to control the volume of the speakers.
     
  9. Baxter

    Baxter Audiosexual

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2011
    Messages:
    3,859
    Likes Received:
    2,686
    Location:
    Sweden
    How is your gain-staging?
     
  10. No Avenger

    No Avenger Audiosexual

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2017
    Messages:
    8,980
    Likes Received:
    6,206
    Location:
    Europe
    I meant the output of your Mac, you haven't used the headphones out accidentally?
     
  11. ripkeed

    ripkeed Guest

    This Mac has only one jack output
    M1_MacBook_Air__-_7.jpeg
     
    • Interesting Interesting x 1
    • List
  12. ripkeed

    ripkeed Guest

    The speakers are set to +11.0db
     
  13. No Avenger

    No Avenger Audiosexual

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2017
    Messages:
    8,980
    Likes Received:
    6,206
    Location:
    Europe
    And, have you checked in the manual if this is a HP output?
     
  14. ripkeed

    ripkeed Guest

    I forgot to say it but they only saturate when my Mac's sound is loud
     
  15. ripkeed

    ripkeed Guest

    They say 3.5 mm headphone jack
     
  16. No Avenger

    No Avenger Audiosexual

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2017
    Messages:
    8,980
    Likes Received:
    6,206
    Location:
    Europe
    Which model is this, haven't found one with up to +11dB?

    That's why the sound distorts. These are meant for headphones (hence the name :winker:) not to connect to active monitors, that would be called line out.
    If this is the only output then you'll need an additional audio interface.
     
  17. Myfanwy

    Myfanwy Producer

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2020
    Messages:
    272
    Likes Received:
    146
    No, that's not true. It is absolutely fine to use headphone outputs to connect to line inputs. Headphone amplifiers can usually drive impedances from 32 Ohms up while line inputs usually have an absolute minimum of 600 Ohms, most of the time around 10 kOhms.

    What doesn't work is driving headphones with line outputs, as they usually can't deliver enough current.
     
  18. boomoperator

    boomoperator Rock Star

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2013
    Messages:
    615
    Likes Received:
    349
    Can something about the problem be said from below specs?

    From the KRK Rocket G4 specs:
    • Input Impedance
      5.12KΩ Balanced
    Specs of MacBook audio output:
    • (Playback of 1 Khz tone, full scale, 100kΩ load)
    • Maximum output voltage: 2 VRMS (+8.24 dBu)
    • Output impedance: < 24 Ω
    • Frequency response: 20 Hz to 20 kHz, +0.5 dB/-3 dB
    • Signal-to-noise ratio (SNR): > 90 dB
    • Total harmonic distortion + noise (THD+N): < -80 dB (0.01%)
    • Channel separation: > 75 dB
    Note: For best results, equipment plugged into the line/headphone output jack should not connect the audio ground to other grounds, such as the chassis or “green-wire” ground.
     
  19. Tob

    Tob Platinum Record

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2019
    Messages:
    305
    Likes Received:
    200
    Not a Mac Expert at all. Not even been a user for years. On PC most 1 output Onboard soundcards let you change the setting for the output from Headphones to speakers etc...
    I would be pretty surprised if a Mac would not have such a feature. There should be one setting that puts the amplification very close to line level. For exactly the application @ripkeed has here.
     
  20. wuzzle

    wuzzle Platinum Record

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2014
    Messages:
    494
    Likes Received:
    278
    Location:
    Lesser Galactic Co-ordinates: Earth (0.0.0)
    They don't offer that functionality. They do however allow one to switch the headphone jack to line IN. That's it however.
     
  21. clone

    clone Audiosexual

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2021
    Messages:
    6,433
    Likes Received:
    2,785
    This is like going to the hardware store and having them spec out a tiny little hammer to nail down an entire roof worth of nails with. In the middle of the hammer aisle.
     
Loading...
Similar Threads - Rokits saturate Forum Date
Everyone able to make music = saturated dying industry? Lounge Jul 14, 2021
Fl studio 20 mix saturates Mixing and Mastering Feb 17, 2021
Loading...