Korg Monologue- total noob, need some help starting out

Discussion in 'Soundgear' started by Bruce Burbank, Dec 9, 2021.

Tags:
  1. Bruce Burbank

    Bruce Burbank Noisemaker

    Joined:
    May 13, 2014
    Messages:
    21
    Likes Received:
    6
    Location:
    Salt Lake City
    (Sorry, I tried registering on korgfuroms.com, but that site is totally borked. Not letting me register, and I get the mailer deamon when trying to contact admin. Hopefully somebody here can help me out.)

    Bought a Monologue at a pawn shop the other day. Guy at the shop didn't know anything about it, other than it's in perfect physical condition (seriously, 100% like new), and it powers on.

    I get it home and start playing with it. It plays the built-in preset sequences just fine, all the knobs and toggle switches seem to work, the little oscilloscope is jumping all over the place as it should.

    But I can't for the life of me figure out how to make any sounds when manually playing the keys, as if a live performance.

    I download the manual and, referring to the section called Creating a Program from Scratch on page 13, try to make it work, but am unsuccessful.

    This guy's video (
    , watch from 40 seconds to 55 seconds) walks through the basics, including the series of buttons you need to push to create a patch, and I copy those moves exactly, but still no dice. Still silence when I press the keys, oscilloscope still flatlined.

    I'm hoping I'm just missing a step or a setting or a mode or something like that and the internals of this thing are OK. But right now it just seems like the keys are 100% detached from the rest of the synth.

    Anybody know what I'm doing wrong? Anybody care to write out the exact steps I need to do to get this thing jamming with keys?
     
  2.  
  3. realitybytez

    realitybytez Audiosexual

    Joined:
    May 29, 2013
    Messages:
    1,440
    Likes Received:
    619
    buying from a pawn shop.
     
  4. genlab

    genlab Member

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2021
    Messages:
    27
    Likes Received:
    9
    Turn of the sequencer that's it

    And local on for the keys
     
  5. Bruce Burbank

    Bruce Burbank Noisemaker

    Joined:
    May 13, 2014
    Messages:
    21
    Likes Received:
    6
    Location:
    Salt Lake City
    What does this mean? How do I do it?
     
  6. Bruce Burbank

    Bruce Burbank Noisemaker

    Joined:
    May 13, 2014
    Messages:
    21
    Likes Received:
    6
    Location:
    Salt Lake City
    Well, actually it was a pawn shop selling stuff on ebay, and it has a 30 day guarantee, and I've had it for only a week. So I have some time to figure it out or send it back.
     
  7. realitybytez

    realitybytez Audiosexual

    Joined:
    May 29, 2013
    Messages:
    1,440
    Likes Received:
    619
    from the manual:
    1. Check that the monologue is in Play mode. In Play mode, verify that the EDIT MODE button on the front panel are unlit. If the EDIT MODE button is lit, press the EXIT button.
    2. Turn the PROGRAM/VALUE knob to select a Program.
    3. Play the keyboard to hear the sound.

    do not press the "play" button in the sequencer section.
     
  8. Bruce Burbank

    Bruce Burbank Noisemaker

    Joined:
    May 13, 2014
    Messages:
    21
    Likes Received:
    6
    Location:
    Salt Lake City
    Is it in Play mode all the time as long as the sequencer isn’t playing anything? Or is there some button I need to push or some mode setting that I need to switch to get it to Play mode?
     
  9. realitybytez

    realitybytez Audiosexual

    Joined:
    May 29, 2013
    Messages:
    1,440
    Likes Received:
    619
    my interpretation of those instructions is that you just need to make sure it is not in edit mode and that the sequencer is not engaged. but i do not own a monologue nor have i ever played one.
     
  10. clone

    clone Audiosexual

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2021
    Messages:
    2,315
    Likes Received:
    957
    try to Factory Reset it.

    monologue
    1. Begin with the monologue turned off.
    2. While holding down the WRITE button and the EXIT button, turn the monologue on. “FACTORY RESET” will be indicated and highlighted in the display. ...
    3. Press the WRITE button. ...
    4. Turn the PROGRAM/VALUE knob to select “Yes”, and press the WRITE button.
     
    • Like Like x 1
    • Agree Agree x 1
    • Useful Useful x 1
    • List
  11. Synclavier

    Synclavier Platinum Record

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2014
    Messages:
    237
    Likes Received:
    183
    [​IMG]
     
  12. Bruce Burbank

    Bruce Burbank Noisemaker

    Joined:
    May 13, 2014
    Messages:
    21
    Likes Received:
    6
    Location:
    Salt Lake City
    Hey, thanks to you all for your help with this. I've tried all your suggestions and everything else I can dig up, and have come to the conclusion that this thing has issues. I'll track down some Korg customer service contact info to see if they can fix it on the cheap. If not, it's going back to the seller. Many thanks.
     
  13. clone

    clone Audiosexual

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2021
    Messages:
    2,315
    Likes Received:
    957
    yeah good luck
     
    Last edited: Dec 11, 2021
  14. Paul Pi

    Paul Pi Audiosexual

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2016
    Messages:
    655
    Likes Received:
    635
    Location:
    London
  15. clone

    clone Audiosexual

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2021
    Messages:
    2,315
    Likes Received:
    957
    Factory Reset will always return a midi device Local setting to On.
     
  16. Paul Pi

    Paul Pi Audiosexual

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2016
    Messages:
    655
    Likes Received:
    635
    Location:
    London
    Faulty as charged, M'lud!
     
  17. Bruce Burbank

    Bruce Burbank Noisemaker

    Joined:
    May 13, 2014
    Messages:
    21
    Likes Received:
    6
    Location:
    Salt Lake City
    AH YES! I figured it out. It was that Local on/off setting.

    After I factory reset it, the Korg guy said that setting should default to On. For some reason, mine defaulted to Off. I had no idea about that setting or what it did, but the Korg guy said that this setting was one of the things I should check, and sure enough, he was right, and that was the culprit all along.

    Now working 100%. Thanks for all your suggestions and for tolerating my nonsense.
     
  18. Synclavier

    Synclavier Platinum Record

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2014
    Messages:
    237
    Likes Received:
    183
    • Like Like x 2
    • Useful Useful x 1
    • List
  19. Tele_Vision

    Tele_Vision Platinum Record

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2021
    Messages:
    247
    Likes Received:
    150
    Congrats on the Monologue. That's a great synth. Check out some of the third-party preset packs on the sister site. There's also some kewl free presets on the interwebs - a great starting point for your own patches.
     
Loading...
Loading...