Korg M1 Keyboard with MPD32? midi in?

Discussion in 'Soundgear' started by EddieXx, Dec 31, 2018.

  1. EddieXx

    EddieXx Rock Star

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2015
    Messages:
    595
    Likes Received:
    304
    I wanted to use my old Korg M1 keyboard as midi controller, and add my MPD32

    I connected the Korg M1 midi-out to my sound-cards midi-IN
    I connected the MPD32 midi-out to the midi-in on the Korg M1.

    I can now trigger my daw with the M1 Keyboard perfectly, and the M1 even receives MIDI from the MPD32 but, the midi from the MPD32 does not get through to my DAW..

    anyone knows if im doing something obviously wrong? cheers
     
    Last edited: Dec 31, 2018
  2.  
  3. midi-man

    midi-man Audiosexual

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2013
    Messages:
    1,041
    Likes Received:
    519
    I think you need to use the midi thru to get the data back into your daw.
    You might be able to use the M1 midi thru.
    The M1 out is only going to pass the M1 midi data.
     
  4. No Avenger

    No Avenger Audiosexual

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2017
    Messages:
    1,951
    Likes Received:
    1,391
    Location:
    Europe
    midi-man is right. If you want to send the MIDI data from the MPD32 through the M1 to your DAW, you'll need the M1's MIDI through for it (hence the name :winker:). Then you would either need two MIDI ins in your audio interface or a MIDI merger, something like this

    https://www.thomann.de/gb/midi_solutions_merger_v2.htm?ref=intl&shp=eyJjb3VudHJ5IjoiZ2IiLCJjdXJyZW5jeSI6IjIiLCJsYW5ndWFnZSI6ImVuIn0=

    It merges both ins to both outs.

    But if you don't want to controll the M1 with the MPD32, I'd connect the MPD directly to the merger.
     
  5. EddieXx

    EddieXx Rock Star

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2015
    Messages:
    595
    Likes Received:
    304
    hi guys! thanks for chiming in, I wonder though, could it be that the M1 "midi through" only sends midi out to other "sound modules" as said in here? so that its its a sort of midi-out only, not back to daw? https://www.notation.com/ComposerDocs3/tuning_a_device_to_specific.htm

    and why would I need two cables dear No Avenger,
    if the mpd32 goes midi out into M1, and M1 goes midi out to the midi-in of my interface, then only one cable would be needed right

    its weird, only when using usb Im able to mount the m1 via my mpd, but that adds latency, specially noticeable when a project is under heavy load and I can't have extremely low buffer size, midi cables are much more efficient
     
    Last edited: Dec 31, 2018
  6. midi-man

    midi-man Audiosexual

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2013
    Messages:
    1,041
    Likes Received:
    519
    What you are missing is that the m1 input is filtering the data. It needs to pass the data of the other midi port.
    USB midi cables are different my mpk61 has multipal ports on the usb cable.

    It's not that the midi cable is more efficient it's that in my knowledge it's dedicated only midi data.
     
  7. wasgedn

    wasgedn Audiosexual

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2014
    Messages:
    2,717
    Likes Received:
    976
    Location:
    Germany
    not weird just usb....but it would be interssting to determ how ,when or why usb-(midi) get better latency
     
  8. No Avenger

    No Avenger Audiosexual

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2017
    Messages:
    1,951
    Likes Received:
    1,391
    Location:
    Europe
    Nope, the MIDI out is reserved for the keyboard. Input data are not routed to the out, but to the through-port. What comes in must go through, not out.
    So, you'll need one cable for M1 MIDI out and one for the through, adds up to two. :winker:
    Or you just use both outs, but that's two either.

    Meanwhile there is a lot of hardware which has a MIDI out/through combi port, but this is not the case here.
     
  9. wasgedn

    wasgedn Audiosexual

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2014
    Messages:
    2,717
    Likes Received:
    976
    Location:
    Germany
    confusing for the first.....shouldnt it be named converter or sort of...or switch...
     
  10. No Avenger

    No Avenger Audiosexual

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2017
    Messages:
    1,951
    Likes Received:
    1,391
    Location:
    Europe
    To merge = verschmelzen, where's is that confusing? There's nothing converted and it has no switch, so...
     
Loading...
Loading...