Kontakt 'no library found' issue

Discussion in 'Software' started by hdxmula, Oct 21, 2019.

  1. hdxmula

    hdxmula Member

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2016
    Messages:
    36
    Likes Received:
    7
    *Before someone says I need to update Kontakt, the library I have is for version 5.5, and also when I try to add libraries I previously successfully added, I'm getting the same issue as the library I'm trying to add now.

    When I try to add a library, I'm getting 'no library found.' The wallpaper is in the folder as well as an NICNT file. I used a Kontakt Library Creator to try to fix the issue, but I'm still getting the 'no library found' error. What's weird is I removed libraries I already had successfully added in Kontakt and tried to add them again and I'm getting the same issue. Any ideas?
     
    Last edited: Oct 21, 2019
  2.  
  3. Daskeladden

    Daskeladden Platinum Record

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2018
    Messages:
    706
    Likes Received:
    263
    What are you adding the library with?

    By the way try and delete register files:
    1) Start, Run, then type "Regedit" in the window

    2) Navigate to the following:
    -- HKEY_CURRENT_USER\SOFTWARE\NATIVE INSTRUMENTS
    -- HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SOFTWARE\NATIVE INSTRUMENTS
    Delete the library you have problem with on both places

    3)delete XML file to the library you have problem with
    Windows: C > Program Files > Common Files > Native Instruments > Service Center

    Then try and add the library again
     
  4. hdxmula

    hdxmula Member

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2016
    Messages:
    36
    Likes Received:
    7
    There was nothing for the library in CURRENT_USER, only in LOCAL_MACHINE so I deleted that. There was also no XML file.

    The way I'm trying to add is by going to the libraries tab and clicking 'add library.' Actually the way I usually use Kontakt is by the 'files' tab and just selecting the .nki file. That usually works but for this library when I try to do that it tells me 'Your new library needs to be added before this instrument can be used. Please go to Kontakt's Libraries tab and press the Add Library button.'
     
  5. Daskeladden

    Daskeladden Platinum Record

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2018
    Messages:
    706
    Likes Received:
    263
    Have you tried Add Library.exe? I'm not sure if that works on the 5.5 version
     
  6. hdxmula

    hdxmula Member

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2016
    Messages:
    36
    Likes Received:
    7
    Wasn't expecting this to work but I ran my DAW as an administrator and it added the library with no problem. Kinda weird. I haven't used Kontakt in a couple years so I can't remember if I always had to do this or not. Thanks for your help tho it's much appreciated! So thankful for this site it's saved me so many times.
     
  7. hani king

    hani king Producer

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2017
    Messages:
    136
    Likes Received:
    95
    Location:
    kuwait
    I ALWAYS run things as administrator you name it daw / games /apps / girlfriend :hahaha:
     
  8. Olymoon

    Olymoon MODERATOR Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2012
    Messages:
    2,340
    Likes Received:
    1,304
    Run as admin is mandatory for this operation as by doing it you need permission to change registry.
     
  9. hdxmula

    hdxmula Member

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2016
    Messages:
    36
    Likes Received:
    7
    I'm not outta the woods yet. So now everytime I open Kontakt I have to re-add all of my libraries. If I open a project that used Kontakt I get a message that says the library isn't installed on this computer and I have to add it all over again. Any idea on how to fix?

    EDIT: I had to download the XML file for the library. I thought Kontakt generated those automatically?
     
    Last edited: Oct 22, 2019
  10. Olymoon

    Olymoon MODERATOR Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2012
    Messages:
    2,340
    Likes Received:
    1,304
    I'm not sure that recent version does this automatically.
     
Loading...
Loading...