Kontakt libraries removing additional mics

Discussion in 'Kontakt' started by mono, Mar 9, 2019.

Tags:
  1. mono

mono Audiosexual

Hi earth people kontakt noob here,
    Which microphone position is best to remove or keep when making lite versions of kontakt libraries
    there is Close, Room or a Mix of the two all taking up the same HD space
    so removing two would make the librarie three times smaller from what i can tell.

Would panning the close mic left and room mic right be better
    then resaving the librarie as a mix version so you could still have and change Close & Room
    with the same flexibility as the unmodified librarie
    using panning in kontakt and your daw or tools like virtual sound stage to position the instruments
    as they should be,this would also save time reloading libraries
    as there would be no need to reload all the samples when changing mics
    you would just need to change the panning & vol to get all mic positions ?
    Look forward to any ideas about the best way to resize libraries.

• Interesting Interesting x 1
    • List
  3. Xupito

Xupito Audiosexual

I do that a lot because my computer is old and has very few RAM (8GB).

Generally speaking the best mic is the closest because it doesn't capture the reverb/reflections of the place and then you can pan and apply your reverbs (for instance) to the individual sections at your taste.

If the mix mic is enough for you go for it.

In any case, the quality and realism won't be the same as the complete package. You could also play with the mixer section many of these libraries have that allows to disable/enable mics before deciding.

Another trick is to convert the samples to 16bit. It's a long process but reduces a lot the size. But keep the original samples even if it's only to use them in a final mixdown/render.