Kontakt. How do i merge samples into NKX files?

Discussion in 'Kontakt' started by und3rd0g, May 8, 2012.

1. und3rd0g

und3rd0g Newbie

Hi,

I've seen that in many recent kontakt libraries, samples are packed into a big single file: for example in Alicia Key's piano, in the "Samples" subfolder all sounds are merged into big nkx/nkc files (each nkx is over 1GB size).

I would like to do the same thing with other libraries that contains TONS of wav/ncw files, and merge them into a single (or few) bigger file: i'm not a computer expert but i think it's faster, more simple, and safer because it gives more life to my hard-disk.

I've tried to create a monolith file for every instrument in my personal libraries, but it's useless. Why? Because almost every instrument in the library share the same wav/ncw sounds: creating a monolith for each instrument means having multiple copies of the same sound file inside each monolith...it's an incredible waste of hard-disk space.

In fewer words, i'd like to merge every sounds into larger nkx files that are accessible by all the instruments in the library. I've tried to use Kontakt Assistant by Chicken Systems, it's the only software that seems to have that "nkx merge" function, but without luck. It's very buggy, outdated, and it crashes all the time i try to use it. Luckily you can avoid the risk and try a free demo before throwing away 80$!

At this point (after a long period of failed attempts) i believe that the only option left is creating an ISO file for each sound library, but i don't think it's a good method. Maybe it's too slow or tricky, especially when you have many old-style-format kontakt libraries to manage. I have to try it yet...or there's any other sort of workaround possible?

Unlike other sampler software out there, it seems to me that only Native Instruments and third party companies have the exclusive right to do that, maybe for "commercial" reasons. It's very sad...

p.s. sorry for my english

3. Studio 555