kontakt 5.8 portable crashes on startup

Discussion in 'Kontakt' started by T2000, Jul 6, 2018.

  1. T2000

    T2000 Noisemaker

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2015
    Messages:
    72
    Likes Received:
    4
    Hi folks

    I had a search, but haven't managed to fix this.

    I got the standalone to work, by making sure it isn't blocked to the internet by my Firewall.
    However, I just can't get it to load in any DAW (mainly on A10)

    I may have blocked this one in the firewall, but as far as I can see, there's nothing in the Firewall that I can change to change this one.
    I've generally blocked everything from the internet - does this need access?

    Kontakt 5.8.0 Portable just crashes when I try to open it in the DAW
    I previously had R2R and maybe other versions installed, so something is perhaps screwed up
    Used CCleaner to try and remove all of these old ones, but no joy

    Windows 8

    Any ideas please?
    I've tried everything I can think of
     
  2.  
  3. Xupito

    Xupito Audiosexual

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2012
    Messages:
    1,005
    Likes Received:
    508
    Location:
    Where machine gun effect means dead bodies
    I didn't know you need to allow internet access to the portable versions.

    But if that's the case, the logic would say you need to allow internet access to the DAW. When you open a plugin in a DAW, it kind of becomes part of the DAW program. Same process.
    Does it show some kind of information when it crashes?

    Edit: just in case, run the DAW with administrator privileges.
     
    Last edited: Jul 6, 2018
  4. Daskeladden

    Daskeladden Member

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2018
    Messages:
    46
    Likes Received:
    13
    if it crashes in all DAW's it has to be something with the installation of the portable Kontakt. By the way do you have Komplete kontrol cause I read someone having problem with that. They had to remove Komplete Kontrol from the VST Plugins folder.
     
    Last edited: Jul 6, 2018
  5. Xupito

    Xupito Audiosexual

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2012
    Messages:
    1,005
    Likes Received:
    508
    Location:
    Where machine gun effect means dead bodies
    And probably only with the installation of the Kontakt VSTi plugins, because it runs in standalone mode.
     
  6. Quantised Noise

    Quantised Noise Newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2018
    Messages:
    15
    Likes Received:
    2
    It needs to be able to access 127.0.0.1, many firewalls take 'block' as meaning 'block all' and thus block even localhost access, thus causing kontakt to crash.
     
  7. eXACT_Beats_

    eXACT_Beats_ Kapellmeister

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2018
    Messages:
    71
    Likes Received:
    57
    I was going to say what Daskelladen said, with the installation and all.
    As far as the portable version needing internet access, it doesn't.
     
  8. rudolph

    rudolph Producer

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2016
    Messages:
    274
    Likes Received:
    77
    There´s no install process in Kontakt portable. Unrar, move the whole file to a place in your HD and add the file VST to your DAW plugins folder 64 or 32. The standalone app opens from the same folder.
     
  9. eXACT_Beats_

    eXACT_Beats_ Kapellmeister

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2018
    Messages:
    71
    Likes Received:
    57
    I didn't catch the part where you said,
    so, now I'm confused. Rudolph is right with the above; it's just that simple; no actual install .exe. I was unclear before, I had meant installation as in where you actually put the folder on your computer. Maybe it confused your DAW for some reason. Portable is famed for working from anywhere, but I have had major issues with FL Studio reading plugins, even if they were in the correct places (e.g.: Program Files\Steinberg\VST was a bust half of the time;) Kontakt (Desktop, not Portable,) was one of the plugins it disliked even in its proper place. It was a sonuvabitch. I use Studio One now and everything runs effortlessly....as a DAW should.
    Did you move any of the files out of place? You probably already know this, but Kontakt has to be setup with the file heirarchyexactly as it is or its a bust. Other than that.... :dunno:
     
  10. rudolph

    rudolph Producer

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2016
    Messages:
    274
    Likes Received:
    77
    Don´t move the VST out of the main folder, instead configure your Daw to recognize it as a second plugin folder.
     
    Last edited: Jul 7, 2018
  11. T2000

    T2000 Noisemaker

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2015
    Messages:
    72
    Likes Received:
    4
    Thanks all. I hadnt originally realised it needed net access

    So if the pc is online, kontakt could be dialling home?

    Ie are addresses other than 127.0.0.1 ok to block and kontakt still work??
     
  12. Xupito

    Xupito Audiosexual

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2012
    Messages:
    1,005
    Likes Received:
    508
    Location:
    Where machine gun effect means dead bodies
    It doesn't need internet.
    Seems that needs to access to 127.0.0.1, but that address is your own computer. Like a user has said perhaps your Firewall is blocking even that in an "excess of security".
     
  13. eXACT_Beats_

    eXACT_Beats_ Kapellmeister

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2018
    Messages:
    71
    Likes Received:
    57
    I have my firewall set up tighter than a.....well, fill in something vulgar there, and I have "excess" security, but I still didn't need to do anything with Kontakt 5.8 Portable but extract the .rar and tell S1 where to find it. I have absolutely no idea what the issue is. Is your Portable copy from someone on AudioZ? That's where I got my copy which replaced my desk version. (For what it's worth, I am running Win7Ultx64.)
     
  14. Xupito

    Xupito Audiosexual

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2012
    Messages:
    1,005
    Likes Received:
    508
    Location:
    Where machine gun effect means dead bodies
    These are the google-translated instructions and I've selected what may affect the VST plugin files:

    "
    * Administrator rights are necessary if the portable program folder is placed in a protected system store (for example, in Program Files) - this location for portable programs is unnatural and not recommended
    ** VST folders of Kontakt 5 Portable have plugins with modified identifiers (you need to run Modified Plugins.exe and click the Extract button if your host does not simultaneously see the plug-ins of the installed and ported Contact)
    "

    "
    How to add Kontakt 5 PORTABLE VST to the host (DAW)
    Method 1 :
    Run Kontakt57Portable \ Install.exe and create a link to the VST plug-ins for the transferred Contact in one of the folders that are already scanned by your host
    Method 2 :
    Open your host's settings and add the folder Kontakt57Portable \ Kontakt 5 \ x64 \ VST \
    (or Kontakt57Portable \ Kontakt 5 \ x86 \ VST \, if the host does not support 64-bit plug-ins) as an additional folder for scanning plug-ins. For details, refer to the manual (manual) of your DAW.
    "
    Have you executed ModifiedPlugins.exe?

    Hahah I feel you, I have mine in whitelist mode and many explicit blockings just in case.
     
Loading...
Loading...