Kompakt Elektrik/Akoustik Pianos all good in Kontakt 6.

Discussion in 'Kontakt' started by Smoove Grooves, Dec 19, 2019.

  1. Smoove Grooves

    Smoove Grooves Audiosexual

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2019
    Messages:
    2,065
    Likes Received:
    770
    Hiya. This is for the people, or person, who I saw was sad that these weren't still working for them.
    I'm sorry I can't find the threads or comments, but I think it was either @techdevil or @Fudsey Plange, but I can't remember!
    Anything you want to ask so we can sort this for you, please do.
    These instrument libraries have always worked for me. Plus,
    1. everything (OS etc) has been cloned since Kontakt 4,
    2. Service Centre has always remained but I've occasionaly had to play with some .xml files,
    3. and most importantly imo is that I have never batch-resaved anything. Ever. And I don't know why anybody would need or want to.
    So here's a pic showing that they have never stopped working for me, and still work.
     
    Last edited: Dec 21, 2019

    Attached Files:

  2.  
  3. Xupito

    Xupito Audiosexual

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2012
    Messages:
    3,798
    Likes Received:
    2,114
    Location:
    Europe
    All old EWQL Kompakt libraries work well like you said. Since Kontakt v5 you need to create an xml.

    That's great for loading speed (talking about instruments, not samples) but nothing related to compatibility.
     
  4. Smoove Grooves

    Smoove Grooves Audiosexual

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2019
    Messages:
    2,065
    Likes Received:
    770
    I didn't say it was. Xup, I'm trying to be of help.
    Plus, in this day and age of SSDs, I don't think it's any different.
    It's interesting; the first load of a new instrument of any new library will always be slow, and then the next time you load Kontakt another day it will load lightening fast because Kontakt has learnt the paths.
    Anyone who would then decide to batch-resave, before seeing how fast the second load up would be, may be forgiven for thinking it was the batch-resave that had made a difference.
     
  5. Xupito

    Xupito Audiosexual

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2012
    Messages:
    3,798
    Likes Received:
    2,114
    Location:
    Europe
    I know, the "All old EWQL Kompakt libraries work well like you said." was for you.

    There's a big difference, but if you have a very fast above SATA3 SSD probably isn't worth it.
    But I think it has improved lately. The second load is faster because Kontakt remades the .nkx index files (.nkc) whenever it founds they don't have the optimal positions. It's kind of a transparent batch-resaving.

    The index files (.nkc) are literally pointers to every sample position inside an .nkx, database style. Try to mark your lib folder read-only and I'm pretty sure second load is no faster than first.
     
  6. techdevil

    techdevil Platinum Record

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2017
    Messages:
    255
    Likes Received:
    200
    Location:
    Scotland
  7. Smoove Grooves

    Smoove Grooves Audiosexual

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2019
    Messages:
    2,065
    Likes Received:
    770
    That's what I think I'm saying. And it's always been like that, I thought?
    No, they've never stopped working for me; it was for, as written in first post, either techdevil or Fudsey Plange.
    Maybe this is a break-down in my understanding of your English again?

    Okay, thanks @techdevil. Sorry to bother you.
     
  8. Smoove Grooves

    Smoove Grooves Audiosexual

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2019
    Messages:
    2,065
    Likes Received:
    770
    @Xupito
    It's like this. The person/s I refer to in first comment also was swearing by (as in an oath to!) the use of batch-resave upon new versions of Kontakt...
    Surely that's enough to screw the original genes of an original NI library or legacy product? And that's why their Elektrik/Akoustik libs are not working?
    I, on the other hand, have never beyitch-resaved nothang, ya get me? :chilling:
    And Lo! and Behold! I have libs and products from 2006+ that have always worked.
    That's what I'm saying.
     
  9. techdevil

    techdevil Platinum Record

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2017
    Messages:
    255
    Likes Received:
    200
    Location:
    Scotland
    @Smoove Grooves no worries m8, nice to see someone being helpful and remembering others problems.
     
  10. Xupito

    Xupito Audiosexual

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2012
    Messages:
    3,798
    Likes Received:
    2,114
    Location:
    Europe
    I don't buy you don't understand when I say (very roughly): "that 'that is true like you said' was for you" when I point it explicitly.

    Break-down perhaps, who knows if about English or other affairs... not my business:winker::bleh:
    Good luck teasing with my english BTW. Many have tried, very few succeeded. But I encourage you to do your best :wink:

    Hmmmm... congratulations? But the fact remains that batch-resaving speeds a lot loading times. Yes, nowadays too. And to backup original instruments is a breeze.
     
  11. Smoove Grooves

    Smoove Grooves Audiosexual

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2019
    Messages:
    2,065
    Likes Received:
    770
    @techdevil Thanks man! I wish I could remember who it was...
    Now I'm thinking it was @Iggy due to him being another with a comic book type of avatar.
    I wish this thread wasn't buggered up by irrelevant posts!
    @Xupito So, your Elektrik/Akoustik Pianos are working fine in Kontakt 6+, after having constantly batch-resaved them?
    The answer to this would actually be helpful to the topic! :bash:
     
  12. Xupito

    Xupito Audiosexual

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2012
    Messages:
    3,798
    Likes Received:
    2,114
    Location:
    Europe
    Yes, they load fine. I haven't tried EWQL Kompakt pianos but, for instance, EQWL Kompakt Symphonic Choirs work like a charm. I use non-legit Kontakt 5 and 6.

    As you said, it's very advisable to have a backup because the original ones can be required for legit users or future versions. Not to mention you can mess up. But as for this topic concerns resaving never hurts.

    That being said, it's possible to screw up when resaving instruments if, say, you resave with absolute path enabled and then move the lib to another folder. But even in those cases if you relocate your lib still keeps working fine.

    Possible problem of the fellow you wanted to help (happened to me):
    1. you have the original lib in your Downloads folder-
    2. you make a copy in your Kontakt folder
    3. You resave the instruments of the copy. Everything works
    4. You delete the original downloaded lib. everything fails

    That's likely to happen because the instruments still have the path of the original downloaded library. Similar to the "moving the lib folder" problem mentioned before.

    OUCH!! What did I do this time?! :dunno: Bite me! :winker::rofl:
     
  13. bobdule

    bobdule Kapellmeister

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2014
    Messages:
    173
    Likes Received:
    59
    • Interesting Interesting x 2
    • Winner Winner x 1
    • List
  14. jazzzz

    jazzzz Producer

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2018
    Messages:
    415
    Likes Received:
    122
    Not directly related, only because it was written here that other EWQL libraries work:
    EWQL SO Silver did not work when I tried to add in Kontakt 6 on mac. No matter how, I tried many methods, creating .xml file, creating even the .plist. It was so crazy, Kontakt created a phantom registration with just part of the complete name, but when I tried to add it again already with an .nicnt renamed exactly as the phantom name was, it created a reg with the original name again. It looked like cat mouse chase.
    Then I gave up. (It was just a curious attempt after request from other AS/AZ members.)
    However I have posted the instructions for other libraries about how to create .xml and .plist files correctly, unfortunately thanks to the drama queen Cashemere who deleted her release pages, it vanished together with one of those pages.
    I'm surprised nobody has mentioned this aspect among those several threads, that our comments have also been deleted, that obviously did not belong to her. Just saying...
     
  15. Smoove Grooves

    Smoove Grooves Audiosexual

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2019
    Messages:
    2,065
    Likes Received:
    770
    Ah! That's interesting. Thanks. I wonder why it took until 2017. Hopefully this is of use to whoever I thought I was trying to help! haha. Maybe I dreamt it...
    I don't why they've always worked for me. :dunno:
     
  16. Smoove Grooves

    Smoove Grooves Audiosexual

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2019
    Messages:
    2,065
    Likes Received:
    770
    Yes. Those thoughts had crossed my mind also...
     
  17. Iggy

    Iggy Rock Star

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2011
    Messages:
    1,028
    Likes Received:
    393
    Hi, @Smoove Grooves, it was definitely me who stated that Akoustik and Elektrik Pianos stopped working for me as of Kontakt 6 (I actually think it was more like 5.6.8) on the Mac. They load up fine and show up as library tabs all the way to 5.6.6. They don't show up in the Library tab in any version later than that and I can't load them as individual presets, either. No clue why. I'm glad they work for you, though!

    As for the batch resaving, I always batch resave when I add a new library. Whether or not you feel it's necessary, I definitely feel it's necessary, and it works for me. Again, I'm glad you're getting by without it! These two issues are mutually exclusive, though, as I've tried it with a fresh copy of Akoustik and Elektrik Piano and with versions that I've batch resaved. It doesn't matter. My various versions of Kontakt after v5.6.6 won't open them.
     
  18. Xupito

    Xupito Audiosexual

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2012
    Messages:
    3,798
    Likes Received:
    2,114
    Location:
    Europe
    What I gather is that this is a very rare case. Meaning several kompakt-old libs with no official nicnt files now they have, but only for Kontakt v6+.

    Until v6 the only way to use them fully (browser) was the unofficial self-made nicnt. And now only these few ones among the old kompakt-EWQL libs (not Symphonic Choirs and so on) have.

    So only if you use Kontakt v6 you must use these official nicnt. That strikes me as you can't use them both in Kontakt 5 and 6 together perhaps.

    Does this clarify something? Because it sounds weird even for a very experienced Kontakt user like me.
     
    Last edited: Jan 15, 2020
    • Interesting Interesting x 1
    • List
  19. Smoove Grooves

    Smoove Grooves Audiosexual

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2019
    Messages:
    2,065
    Likes Received:
    770
    @Iggy Yay! It was you! I can die happy. Thanks for getting back.
    I'm sorry they don't work for you.
    Maybe that link above to the .nicnt is of use?
     
    Last edited: Jan 15, 2020
  20. Smoove Grooves

    Smoove Grooves Audiosexual

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2019
    Messages:
    2,065
    Likes Received:
    770
    Nope, it's fine. At least on Mac.
    edit: Ah, and also is it interesting to see in my pic that the Kontakt Memory Server still works for me?
    This seems to be 50/50 for people I've helped out on Mac. And on PC I don't think it works at all any more!?
    The only reason I don't like to batch-resave is because that lib is then permanently stuck in the present, and there have been situations where that is a pain. A bit like constantly accepting OS updates from Apple!
    I can live with slower loading times.
     
    Last edited: Jan 15, 2020
  21. Iggy

    Iggy Rock Star

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2011
    Messages:
    1,028
    Likes Received:
    393
    HOLY SHIT, that did it ...!!! I had downloaded the Elektrik Piano 1.5 update, but it didn't have a .nicnt file, and Akoustik Piano never had one, of course. The only problem with your link was that it had no Akoustik Piano .nicnt (and you had to download the entire Elektrik Piano library just to get its .nicnt). For future reference, anyone experiencing what I did, you can find just the .nicnts on this page:

    https://support.native-instruments....cess-but-not-in-Kontakt-Player-6-en-us-en-us-

    ... and scroll down a bit until you get to the active Google Drive link that has just the two .nicnts.

    Much thanks! Both libraries got added in Kontakt 5.6.6 and now show up just fine in v6.0.4 (where, yes, they were promptly batch-resaved)! :wink:
     
Loading...
Similar Threads - Kompakt Elektrik Akoustik Forum Date
Ol NI Kompakt Library in Kontakt ? Kontakt Feb 18, 2020
anyone having the manual for stormbreaks,stormdrum,kompakt..intakt ? Software Jul 15, 2019
Problems with EWQL Symphony Orch. (Kompakt Edition) in Kontakt Kontakt Sep 9, 2016
Kompakt/Intakt/Older Beat Machine Libraries In Kontakt 5 Kontakt Sep 14, 2015
Native Instruments KOMPAKT Samplers, Synthesizers Aug 27, 2014
Loading...